| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
Commission/ Robert-Sauvé Award

Robert-Sauvé Award


 




Winners 2003

On November 13, 2003, the Commission des services juridiques conferred the 2003 Robert-Sauvé Award to Mrs. Nikole DuBois and, posthumously, to Mr. Justice Robert Sacchitelle. Me Pierre Bélanger, Chairman of the Commission des services juridiques, presented the Award.

The Robert-Sauvé Award honours the exceptional contribution of individuals to promoting the rights of the less fortunate. It is usually comprised of two components, the General Public Award and the Network Award.



« General Public » category

Mrs. Nikole DuBois

Photo: Paul Ducharme

In the photograph, from left to right: Mrs. Nikole Dubois, recipient of the General Public Award of the Award, Mrs. Denise Lévesque, spouse of the late Honourable Mr. Justice Robert Sacchitelle, who received the Network Award
Mrs. Nikole DuBois
The Award for the General Public Award was conferred on Mrs. Nikole DuBois, an educational psychologist and public educator in the Témiscouata and Lower St. Lawrence region. Mrs. DuBois has been involved in public education in her region for over thirty years and has supported a multitude of working-class struggles. She was the driving force behind Antidote, an educational program that promotes collective awareness and aims to provide greater personal and social autonomy for women. The Antidote program has been taught to more than one out of ten women in Témiscouata and is also taught in several regions of Québec, in other Canadian provinces as well as in Europe and Africa. Mrs. DuBois is the author of the Antidote teaching guide and trains those who teach the program. She is also the coordinator of the global Antidote network. Mrs. DuBois' unwavering work has allowed women to improve their living conditions and increase their ability to better care for themselves.

« Legal Aid Network » category

Mr. Justice Robert Sacchitelle

Mr. Justice Robert Sacchitelle
The Award for the Network Award was conferred, posthumously, on Mr. Justice Robert Sacchitelle. Mr. Justice Sacchitelle, who was admitted to the Québec Bar in 1964, became a permanent staff member of the Montréal legal aid bureau on January 8, 1973. He initially held various administrative positions and, in 1975, returned to the criminal and penal division to devote himself entirely to defending the rights of his clients. Having been assigned primarily to the criminal trial section, he pleaded numerous well-known cases and distinguished himself among his peers. Throughout his legal career, he taught in several institutions and was the president of professional associations such as the Association des avocats de la défense de Montréal. He was also an active member of the Société de criminologie du Québec. On January 9, 1992, he was appointed to the judiciary as a judge of the Youth Division of the Court of Québec in Montréal. He passed away in the spring of 2000. Mr. Justice Sacchitelle devoted his life to defending the less fortunate in our society, representing them brilliantly and with determination. He did this by choice, with the conviction that it was his mission to do so.
Robert Sauvé
To find out more
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Commission/ Prix Robert-Sauvé

Prix Robert-Sauvé


 




Lauréats 2003

La Commission des services juridiques a remis, le 13 novembre 2003, le Prix Robert-Sauvé pour l'année 2003 à Madame Nikole DuBois et, à titre posthume, à Monsieur le juge Robert Sacchitelle. Me Pierre Bélanger, président de la Commission des services juridiques a présenté les prix.

Le Prix Robert-Sauvé souligne la contribution exceptionnelle d'une personne à la promotion des droits des démunis. Il est normalement composé de deux volets d'attribution, le volet grand public et le volet réseau.



Volet « Grand public »

Madame Nikole DuBois

Photo: Paul Ducharme

Apparaissent sur la photo de g. à d., Madame Nikole Dubois, récipiendaire du prix grand public, Madame Denise Lévesque, conjointe de feu l'honorable Robert Sacchitelle qui a reçu le prix réseau et Me Pierre Bélanger, président de la Commission des services juridiques.
Madame Nikole DuBois
Le prix grand public a été décerné à Madame Nikole DuBois, psychopédagogue et éducatrice populaire dans la région du Témiscouata et du Bas-Saint-Laurent. Madame DuBois est impliquée dans l'éducation populaire de sa région depuis plus de trente ans. Elle a été de toutes les luttes populaires. Elle est l'instigatrice du programme Antidote qui est un programme pédagogique permettant une démarche collective de conscientisation et qui vise une plus grande autonomie personnelle et sociale chez les femmes. Le programme Antidote a été enseigné à plus d'une femme sur dix au Témiscouata et il est enseigné dans plusieurs régions du Québec, dans d'autres provinces canadiennes ainsi qu'en Europe et en Afrique. Madame DuBois est l'auteure du Guide pédagogique Antidote et elle est formatrice d'animatrices de ce programme. Elle est également coordonnatrice du réseau Antidote monde. Le travail assidu de madame DuBois a permis l'amélioration des conditions de vie des femmes et l'augmentation de leur capacité à mieux s'occuper d'elles.

Volet « Réseau »

Monsieur le juge Robert Sacchitelle

Monsieur le juge Robert Sacchitelle
Le prix réseau aide juridique a été décerné, à titre posthume, à Monsieur le juge Robert Sacchitelle. Admis au Barreau du Québec en 1964, monsieur le juge Sacchitelle devient avocat permanent au bureau d'aide juridique de Montréal à compter du 8 janvier 1973. Il a d'abord occupé différentes fonctions à la direction et, en 1975, il retourne à la division criminelle pour se consacrer uniquement à la défense de ses clients. Assigné principalement à la section des Assises, il a plaidé de nombreuses et célèbres causes et s'y est illustré de façon remarquable. Tout au long de sa carrière d'avocat, il a été professeur dans plusieurs institutions et président d'associations professionnelles telle que l'Association des avocats de la défense de Montréal. Il a été également membre actif de la Société de criminologie du Québec. Il a été nommé à la magistrature, à la Chambre de la jeunesse de la Cour du Québec à Montréal le 9 janvier 1992. Il est décédé au printemps de l'année 2000. Monsieur le juge Sacchitelle a consacré sa vie à défendre avec acharnement et brio la cause des plus démunis dans notre société. Il l'a fait par choix, convaincu que telle était sa mission.
Robert Sauvé
Pour en savoir plus
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017