| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
Commission/ Robert-Sauvé Award

Robert-Sauvé Award


 




Winners 2006

On November 9, 2006, the Commission des services juridiques handed out the 2006 Robert-Sauvé Award to Mrs. Ruth Gagnon and Me Jacques Racine. Me Denis Roy, Chairman of the Commission des services juridiques, presented the Award.

The Robert-Sauvé Award honours the exceptional contribution of two individuals to promoting the rights of the less fortunate. It is comprised of two awards, the General Public Award and the Network Award.



« General Public » category

Mrs. Ruth Gagnon

Photo: Paul Ducharme

From left to right : Me Bernand Grenier, Chairman of the Robert-Sauvé Award Selection Committee, Me Jacques Racine, winner of the Robert-Sauvé Award - Network award, Me Raymond Leduc, member of the Robert-Sauvé Award Selectio
Mrs. Ruth Gagnon
The Award for the General Public award was conferred on Mrs. Ruth Gagnon, Executive Director of the Elizabeth Fry Society of Québec, a community organization whose mission is to help women who, one day, may have to face the criminal justice system and are determined to come out of it successfully, although they are unable to do so on their own. Mrs. Gagnon has devoted her life to individuals who are or may be criminalized, by offering crime prevention services and social reintegration programs. She worked primarily within community organizations as well as for the Correctional Service of Canada. During her career, she has reached out to adults and teenagers, guiding and supporting them in their efforts to reintegrate into society. Individuals who land in prison are, for the most part, victims of abuse, violence and abandonment. Mrs. Gagnon has always tried to give them back the dignity to which they are entitled.

« Legal Aid Network » category

Me Jacques Racine

Me Jacques Racine
The Award for the Network award was conferred on Me Jacques Racine, retired director general of the Community Legal Centre of the Lower St. Lawrence/Gaspé Region. A pioneer and leader in computing matters, Me Racine was the first director within the legal aid network to show interest in, and understand the importance of, using new technologies. In the 1980s, he established a computer network in the various offices of the Community Legal Centre of the Lower St. Lawrence/Gaspé Region. This innovation significantly improved customer service. His example was followed throughout the legal aid network. Me Racine was the director of the Community Legal Centre of the Lower St. Lawrence/Gaspé Region from June 1978 to July 1999. Having been admitted to the Bar in 1971, he began working in the field of legal aid in 1973, the year in which the network was established. At that time, he was entrusted with the task of setting up the legal aid bureau in Rimouski. In addition to his administrative responsibilities, Me Racine practised criminal, matrimonial, administrative, civil and youth law at the legal aid bureau. In 1978, he became the director general of the Community Legal Centre of the Lower St. Lawrence/Gaspé Region and, from 1997 until his retirement from the legal aid system in 1999, he was the interim director general of the Community Legal Centre of the North Shore.
Robert Sauvé
To find out more
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Commission/ Prix Robert-Sauvé

Prix Robert-Sauvé


 




Lauréats 2006

La Commission des services juridiques a décerné, le 9 novembre dernier, le prix Robert-Sauvé pour l'année 2006 à Madame Ruth Gagnon et à Me Jacques Racine. Me Denis Roy, président de la Commission des services juridiques, a remis les prix.

Le Prix Robert-Sauvé souligne la contribution exceptionnelle de deux personnes à la promotion des droits des démunis. Il est composé de deux volets d'attribution, le volet grand public et le volet réseau.



Volet « Grand public »

Madame Ruth Gagnon

Photo: Paul Ducharme

Me Bernand Grenier, président du comité de sélection du prix Robert-Sauvé, Me Jacques Racine, lauréat du prix Robert-Sauvé - volet réseau, Me Raymond Leduc, membre du comité de sélection du prix Robert-Sauvé et directeur général du Centre communautaire juridique de la Mauricie-Bois-Francs, Mme Ruth Gagnon, lauréate du prix Robert-Sauvé - volet grand public, Me Denis Roy, président de la Commission des services juridiques, ainsi que l'honorable Yvon Marcoux.
Madame Ruth Gagnon
Le prix grand public a été décerné à Madame Ruth Gagnon, directrice générale de la Société Elizabeth Fry du Québec, organisme communautaire ayant comme mission de venir en aide aux femmes qui, un jour, doivent faire face à la justice pénale et qui sont déterminées à s’en sortir bien qu’incapables d’y parvenir seules. Madame Gagnon a consacré sa vie aux personnes criminalisées ou susceptibles de le devenir, en offrant des services de prévention de la criminalité et de réinsertion sociale. Elle a principalement œuvré au sein d’organismes communautaires ainsi que pour le Service correctionnel du Canada. Au cours de sa carrière, elle est intervenue auprès d’adolescents et d’adultes en les accompagnant, les encadrant et les soutenant dans leur démarche de réinsertion sociale. Les personnes qui se retrouvent en prison sont pour la plupart marquées par l’abus, la violence et l’abandon. Madame Gagnon a toujours tenté de redonner à ces personnes la dignité à laquelle elles ont droit.

Volet « Réseau »

Me Jacques Racine

Me Jacques Racine
Le prix réseau a été décerné à Me Jacques Racine, directeur général à la retraite du Centre communautaire juridique du Bas-Saint-Laurent-Gaspésie. Précurseur et chef de file en matière d’informatique, Me Racine a été le premier administrateur du réseau de l’aide juridique à s’intéresser et à comprendre l’importance d’utiliser les nouvelles technologies. Dans les années 80, il a implanté un réseau informatique dans les différents bureaux du Centre communautaire juridique du Bas-Saint-Laurent-Gaspésie. Cette innovation a permis d’améliorer de façon significative le service à la clientèle. Son exemple a été suivi à travers tout le réseau de l’aide juridique. Me Jacques Racine a été directeur du Centre communautaire juridique du Bas-Saint-Laurent-Gaspésie de juin 1978 à juillet 1999. Admis au Barreau en 1971, Me Racine fait ses débuts à l’aide juridique dès 1973, année de l’implantation du réseau. On lui confie alors la mise en place du bureau d’aide juridique à Rimouski. Outre ses fonctions administratives, Me Racine y pratique le droit criminel, matrimonial, administratif, civil et le droit de la jeunesse. En 1978, il devient le directeur général du Centre communautaire juridique du Bas-Saint-Laurent-Gaspésie et, à compter de 1997 jusqu’à sa retraite de l’aide juridique en 1999, il a assumé par intérim le poste de directeur général du Centre communautaire juridique de la Cote-Nord.
Robert Sauvé
Pour en savoir plus
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017