| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
Commission/ Robert-Sauvé Award

Robert-Sauvé Award


 




Winners 2007

The Commission des services juridiques created the Robert-Sauvé Award in order to recognize the exceptional contribution of individuals to promoting the rights of the less fortunate. These individuals come from within the legal aid network (the Network Award) or from outside the legal aid network (General Public Award).



« General Public » category

Mr. Fernand Côté and Mrs. Arlène Gaudreault

Mr. Fernand Côté
After a successful legal career, Mr. Fernand Côté took a well-earned retirement in 1995. As of 1996, he became involved in Les Œuvres de la Maison Delphine, an organization who purpose is to involve street youth in the resolution of their own problems, with a view to social rehabilitation. He noticed that the youngsters were burdened by the accusations and fines levied against them. With the help of other lawyers, he attempted to remedy the problem. In 2003, thanks to a grant from the Caisse populaire Desjardins de Québec, he established a legal assistance department. This department, comprised of a young lawyer with social work training, is perfectly tailored to the reality experienced by these youngsters, because it is situated within their surroundings, it operates simply and quickly and its services are provided at no cost. Through his unremitting work, compassion and determination, Mr. Côté was able to earn the trust of the youngsters, who saw in him a representative of law and order. He was also the architect of the Table de concertation relative à la Protection des droits et la prévention de la déviance (round table on the protection of rights and prevention of deviance) which brings together key players from all sectors. In 2001, Mr. Côté agreed to sit on the board of directors of l’Autre Avenue, an alternative justice organization. By making justice available to marginalized youth, Mr. Côté has shown that once legal problems have been ironed out, street youth can focus more calmly on improving their lives and reintegrating into society. Mr. Côté received the Hommage bénévolat-Québec award in 2004 as well as the Prix de l’engagement social conferred by the Caisse populaire Desjardins de Québec in 2005.

Mrs. Arlène Gaudreault
Mrs. Gaudreault, who has been coordinator of internships at the École de criminologie de l’Université de Montréal and a lecturer in victimology since 1984, was president of the Association des criminologues du Québec from 1981 to 1985 and, during that time, was also the coordinator of the first Centre d’aide aux victimes d’actes criminels (crime victims' assistance centre). She participated in the establishment of the Association Plaidoyer-Victimes, a community organization that defends and promotes the rights of crime victims, and has been its president since 1988. For more than 20 years, she has striven to provide crime victims with a voice within the penal system. She has participated in a number of public consultations and drafted numerous articles and memoranda that have been presented before Québec and Canadian agencies. A sought-after lecturer, she willingly shares her expertise and extensive knowledge in matters of victimology. Judges, lawyers, police officers and correctional officers, among others, have benefited from her experience and have gained an awareness of the many difficulties faced by victims of crime. Mrs. Gaudreault has also published extensively in the field of victimology, thereby making a significant contribution to this branch of criminology. Mrs. Gaudreault approaches her work with a tireless and tenacious, yet tempered, dedication and is valued by her peers as well as by the victims with whom she is able to develop a relationship of trust. A recipient of the Prix de la Justice du Québec and the Award of Excellence conferred by the Canadian Criminal Justice Association, Mrs. Gaudreault's leadership within the justice system has garnered the trust of those around her, particularly victims of crime.

« Legal Aid Network » category

Me Claude Beaulieu

Fernand Côté, winner of the Robert-Sauvé Award - General Public Award, Arlène Gaudreault, winner of the Robert-Sauvé Award - General Public Award, Claude Beaulieu, winner of the Robert-Sauvé Award - Network Award, and Me Denis Roy
Me Claude Beaulieu
Me Claude Beaulieu was the director of the Chicoutimi legal aid bureau from October 1984 to June 2007. From 1976 onwards, he practised criminal law there for more than 30 years. Me Beaulieu, a well-known jurist respected by his colleagues, devoted his career to defending those less fortunate within our society with enthusiasm and determination. He has shared his experience and knowledge as an instructor at the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi and by participating for several years as organizer, moderator and lecturer of continuing education seminars presented, among others, by the Québec Bar, the Commission des services juridiques and the Association des avocats et avocates de la défense, of which he is a founding member and has been a member of the board of directors since 1995. He is very active within the Barreau du Saguenay - Lac St-Jean, sitting as a member of the Comité de la Cour du Québec for close to 25 years and as chairman thereof since 1995. Indeed, the Barreau du Saguenay - Lac St-Jean recognized his exceptional contribution to the community by awarding him the Médaille du Barreau in 2006. Throughout his career, Me Beaulieu has been highly involved with numerous community organizations, including the Crime Victims Assistance Centre. Of note is his involvement with individuals suffering from mental illness, of which his collaboration with the Canadian Mental Health Association, and, in particular, with the Macadam program, are examples. In his quest to improve living conditions for the less fortunate, Me Beaulieu was particularly involved in La maison d’accueil pour sans-abri de Chicoutimi (shelter for the homeless). He has been a member of the board of directors of the shelter since 2000 and chairman since 2002.
Robert Sauvé
To find out more
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Commission/ Prix Robert-Sauvé

Prix Robert-Sauvé


 




Lauréats 2007

La Commission des services juridiques a créé les prix Robert-Sauvé afin de souligner la contribution exceptionnelle de personnes à la promotion des droits des démunis. Ces personnes proviennent du réseau de l’aide juridique (prix volet réseau) ou de tout autre milieu (prix volet grand public).



Volet « Grand public »

Monsieur Fernand Côté et Madame Arlène Gaudreault

Monsieur Fernand Côté
Après avoir connu une fructueuse carrière juridique, Monsieur Fernand Côté a pris une retraite bien méritée en 1995. Dès 1996, il s’impliquait dans l’organisme Les Œuvres de la Maison Delphine, qui a pour but de susciter l’engagement des jeunes de la rue dans la résolution de leurs problèmes jusqu’à la réhabilitation sociale. Il a alors constaté que les jeunes croulaient sous le poids des accusations et des contraventions. Avec l’aide d’avocats, il a tenté de remédier au problème. En 2003, grâce à une subvention de la Caisse populaire Desjardins de Québec, il met sur pied le Service juridique. Composé d’un jeune avocat formé en travail social, ce service est parfaitement adapté à la réalité de ces jeunes puisqu’il est situé dans leur proche environnement, qu’il a un fonctionnement simple et rapide tout en étant entièrement gratuit. Monsieur Côté, par son travail acharné, sa compassion et sa détermination, a su gagner la confiance des jeunes qui voyaient en lui un représentant de la loi et de l’ordre. Il a aussi été l’artisan de la Table de concertation relative à la Protection des droits et la prévention de la déviance qui rassemble les acteurs importants de tous les milieux. En 2001, Monsieur Côté a accepté de siéger au conseil d’administration de l’Autre Avenue, organisme de justice alternative. En mettant la justice à la disposition des jeunes marginaux Monsieur Côté a démontré qu’une fois les problèmes légaux aplanis, les jeunes de la rue peuvent se consacrer avec plus de sérénité à l’amélioration de leur vie et à leur réinsertion dans la société. M. Côté a reçu le prix Hommage bénévolat-Québec 2004 ainsi que le Prix de l'engagement social de la Caisse populaire Desjardins de Québec en 2005.

Madame Arlène Gaudreault
Coordonnatrice des stages à l’École de criminologie de l’Université de Montréal et chargée de cours en victimologie depuis 1984, Mme Gaudreault a été présidente de l’Association des criminologues du Québec de 1981 à 1985 et coordonnatrice durant ces années du premier Centre d’aide aux victimes d’actes criminels. Elle a participé à la création de l’Association Plaidoyer-Victimes, un organisme communautaire de défense et de promotion des droits des victimes d’actes criminels, dont elle est la présidente depuis 1988. Depuis plus de 20 ans, elle s’efforce de donner une voix aux victimes dans le système de justice pénale. Elle a participé à plusieurs consultations publiques et a rédigé de nombreux articles et mémoires présentés devant les instances québécoises et canadiennes. Conférencière recherchée, elle n’hésite pas à partager son expertise et sa grande compétence en matière de victimologie. Les juges, les avocats, les policiers et les agents correctionnels, entre autres, ont bénéficié de ses enseignements et ont été sensibilisés aux multiples difficultés rencontrées par les victimes d’actes criminels. Mme Gaudreault a aussi plusieurs publications à son actif, liées à son expérience et à son expertise en victimologie. Ces écrits ont contribué de manière certaine à la diffusion des connaissances dans cette branche de la criminologie. Travailleuse infatigable, authentique et tenace bien que modérée, Mme Gaudreault est appréciée de ses pairs et des victimes avec qui elle sait développer des liens de confiance. Récipiendaire du Prix de la Justice du Québec et du Prix d’excellence décerné par l’Association canadienne de justice pénale, elle a su exercer un leadership d’adhésion dans le milieu de la justice particulièrement auprès des victimes d’actes criminels.

Volet « Réseau »

Me Claude Beaulieu

Monsieur Fernand Côté, lauréat du prix Robert-Sauvé - volet grand public, Madame Arlène Gaudreault, lauréate du prix Robert-Sauvé - volet grand public, Me Claude Beaulieu, lauréat du prix Robert-Sauvé volet réseau et Me Denis Roy
Me Claude Beaulieu
Me Claude Beaulieu a été directeur du bureau d’aide juridique de Chicoutimi d’octobre 1984 à juin 2007. Dès 1976, il y pratiquera le droit criminel pendant plus de 30 ans. Juriste reconnu et respecté de ses confrères, il a voué sa carrière à défendre les plus démunis avec fougue et détermination. Il a transmis son expérience et ses connaissances en enseignant à l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et en participant pendant plusieurs années en tant qu’organisateur, animateur et conférencier à la formation permanente donnée, entre autres, par le Barreau du Québec, la Commission des services juridiques et l’Association des avocats et avocates de la défense dont il est un des membres fondateurs et membre du Conseil d’administration depuis 1995. Très actif auprès du Barreau du Saguenay - Lac St-Jean, il a été membre du Comité de la Cour du Québec pendant près de 25 ans et en assume la présidence depuis 1995. Le Barreau du Saguenay - Lac St-Jean a d’ailleurs reconnu son apport exceptionnel à la communauté en lui décernant en 2006 la Médaille du Barreau. Tout au long de sa carrière, Me Beaulieu a été un intervenant très impliqué auprès de plusieurs organismes communautaires dont le Centre d’aide aux victimes d’actes criminels. On ne peut passer sous silence son implication auprès des personnes souffrant de maladie mentale. Sa collaboration avec l’Association canadienne de la santé mentale, et particulièrement son implication dans le programme Macadam, en est un exemple. Dans sa quête pour améliorer les conditions de vie des démunis, Me Beaulieu s’est particulièrement impliqué dans La maison d’accueil pour sans-abri de Chicoutimi. Il est membre du Conseil d’administration depuis 2000, et il occupe le poste de président depuis 2002.
Robert Sauvé
Pour en savoir plus
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017