| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
Commission/ Robert-Sauvé Award

Robert-Sauvé Award


 




Winners 2011

Montreal, November 4, 2011.- On November 3, 2011, in Longueuil, Me Denis Roy, Chairman of the Commission des services juridiques, proudly handed out the 2011 Robert-Sauvé Awards. The award in the General Public category was conferred posthumously upon Father Jean-Louis Morin for over 30 years of work providing a more compassionate living environment for homeless people suffering from mental health problems, alcoholism, drug addiction and chronic social disorganization. The winner of the Robert-Sauvé Award, Legal Aid Network category, is Mrs Suzanne Pilon for her contribution to promoting the rights of the disadvantaged through her work in the Research Department of the Commission des services juridiques and through her involvement in community activities aimed at the social reintegration of adults with limited intellectual abilities.



« General Public » category

Father Jean-Louis Morin

Photo: Paul Ducharme

Mrs Jacynthe Potvin director of Centre Kogaluk, M Armand Lelièvre chairman of the Centre Kogaluk and Me Denis Roy, chairman of the Commission des services juridiques, Father Jean-Louis Morin (photo) Robert-Sauvé - General Pub
Father Jean-Louis Morin

Father Jean-Louis Morin became a parish priest in 1954 and passed away in 2005. In 1971 he became a community worker and noticed the difficulties faced by homeless individuals and the lack of resources for providing them with assistance. Between 1975 and 1982, he was involved in establishing various organizations offering services to the homeless, such as Ivresse secours, the centre Entre-amis, the shelter Le Gîte ami, the organization Les Voisins and the Centre Kogaluk where he welcomed marginalized individuals suffering from mental health problems, alcoholism and drug addiction. Le Centre Kogaluk, located a few kilometres outside the City of Gatineau, is well known and established in the Outaouais and continues the humanitarian mission initiated by Father Jean-Louis Morin.

« Legal Aid Network » category

Mrs Suzanne Pilon

Photo: Paul Ducharme

Mrs Suzanne Pilon, recipient of the Robert-Sauvé – Network award and Me Denis Roy, chairman of the Commission des services juridiques
Mrs Suzanne Pilon
Mrs Pilon joined the legal aid network as a lawyer in October 1977 and was the director of the Longueuil legal aid bureau until 1978. Thereafter, she was a lawyer in the Research Department of the Commission des services juridiques and subsequently served as its director until 1999. From the outset of her career, she showed an interest in family law. She was one of the pioneers in the development of family law in Québec. Through her numerous articles and reports, she helped establish family law as a separate recognized area of practice. Despite an onerous workload, Mrs Pilon was involved in community activities. For five years, she was a member and secretary of the board of directors of Le Fil d’Ariane, a workshop for the social reintegration of adults with limited intellectual abilities. She was a member of the board of directors of the Canadian Human Rights Foundation and, for more than 15 years, she has volunteered at La maison de répit gardiennage l’intermède.
Robert Sauvé
To find out more
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Commission/ Prix Robert-Sauvé

Prix Robert-Sauvé


 




Lauréats 2011

Montréal, 4 novembre 2011.– La Commission des services juridiques a remis le 3 novembre dernier, à Longueuil, les Prix Robert-Sauvé 2011.

C’est avec fierté que Me Denis Roy, président de la Commission des services juridiques, a remis le 3 novembre dernier, à Longueuil, les prix Robert-Sauvé 2011. Le prix volet « grand public » est décerné, à titre posthume, au Père Jean-Louis Morin pour son travail de plus de 30 ans afin d’offrir un milieu de vie plus humain à des personnes itinérantes souffrant de problèmes de santé mentale, d’alcoolisme, de toxicomanie et de désorganisation sociale chronique. Le prix Robert-Sauvé, volet « réseau » est décerné à Mme Suzanne Pilon pour sa contribution à la promotion des droits des démunis tant par son travail au Service de recherche de la Commission des services juridiques que par son implication dans des activités communautaires destinées à la réinsertion sociale d’adultes atteints de limitations fonctionnelles sur le plan intellectuel.



Volet « Grand public »

Père Jean-Louis Morin

Photo: Paul Ducharme

de gauche à droite: Mme Jacynthe Potvin directrice du Centre Kogaluk, monsieur Armand Lelièvre président du Centre Kogaluk et Me Denis Roy, président de la Commission des services juridiques, Père Jean-Louis Morin (photo), lau
Père Jean-Louis Morin

Le Père Jean-Louis Morin a été curé de paroisse à compter de 1954 et est décédé en 2005. En 1971 il devient travailleur de rue et prend conscience des difficultés que vivent les personnes itinérantes et de l’absence de ressources pour leur venir en aide. Entre 1975 et 1982, il s’implique dans la fondation de divers organismes offrant des services aux personnes itinérantes. Il participe ainsi à la mise sur pied d’Ivresse secours, du centre Entre-amis, du refuge Le Gîte ami, de l’organisme Les Voisins et du Centre Kogaluk où il accueille des personnes marginalisées souffrant de problèmes de santé mentale, d’alcoolisme et de toxicomanie. Le Centre Kogaluk, situé à quelques kilomètres de la ville de Gatineau, est un organisme reconnu et bien enraciné en Outaouais qui continue la mission humanitaire léguée par le Père Jean-Louis Morin.

Volet « Réseau »

Mme Suzanne Pilon

Photo: Paul Ducharme

Me Denis Roy, président de la Commission des services juridiques et MmeSuzanne Pilon, lauréat du prix Robert-Sauvé - volet réseau.
Mme Suzanne Pilon
Mme Pilon est entrée à l’aide juridique à titre d’avocate en octobre 1977 et a détenu le poste de directrice du bureau de Longueuil jusqu’en 1978. Par la suite, elle a occupé les postes d’avocate puis de directrice au Service de recherche de la Commission des services juridiques jusqu’en 1999. Dès le début de sa pratique, elle s’est intéressée au droit de la famille. Elle a été une des pionnières du développement du droit de la famille au Québec. Auteure de nombreux articles et de plusieurs rapports, elle a permis que le droit de la famille soit reconnu comme un droit à part entière. Malgré un travail exigeant, Mme Pilon s’est impliquée dans des activités communautaires. Pendant cinq ans, elle a été membre et secrétaire du conseil d’administration de l’atelier Le Fil d’Ariane, atelier de travail destiné à la réinsertion sociale d’adultes atteints de limitations fonctionnelles sur le plan intellectuel. Elle a été membre du conseil d’administration de la Fondation canadienne des droits de la personne et, depuis plus de 15 ans, elle est bénévole pour l’organisme La maison de répit gardiennage l’intermède.
Robert Sauvé
Pour en savoir plus
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017