| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
Commission/ Robert-Sauvé Award

Robert-Sauvé Award


 




Winners 2012

Montreal, On November 8, 2012,- Me Denis Roy, Chairman of the Commission des services juridiques, proudly presented the 2012 Robert-Sauvé Awards in Laval, in the presence of the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Québec, Me Bertrand St-Arnaud.

The winner in the Legal Aid Network category was Mr. Jules Barrière for his efforts in promoting the rights of the disadvantaged, including as Director General of the Outaouais Community Legal Centre.

The award in the General Public category was conferred upon Mr. André Laurin for his efforts in promoting social justice and, in particular, ensuring that the rights of Québec consumers are recognized, regardless of income or social status.




« General Public » category

Mr André Laurin

Photo: Paul Ducharme>br> From left to right : Me Bertrand St-Arnaud, Minister of Justice of Québec, Mr André Laurin, recipient of the Robert-Sauvé – General Public award and Me Denis Roy, chairman of the Commission des services juridiques.
André Laurin From the outset of his career in the public sector at the Confédération des syndicats nationaux, André Laurin took a keen interest in the issue of employee indebtedness, to such an extent that his initiatives led to the creation of the cooperative associations for family economics, better known as ACEF. Moreover, he was a legal aid pioneer in Québec, becoming the first chairman of the board of directors of the Québec City Community Legal Centre, a position he held from 1973 to 1977.

Mr. Laurin was also the first recipient of the award conferred by the Office de la protection du consommateur in 2003 and was awarded the Prix de la justice du Québec in 2009.

« Legal Aid Network » category

Mr Jules Barrière

Photo: Paul Ducharme
From left to right : Me Bertrand St-Arnaud, Minister of Justice of Québec, Mrs Bernadette Barrière, spouse of the recipient of the Robert-Sauvé – Network award, Me Catherine Barrière-Gratton, granddaughter of Mr Jules Barrière and
Mr Jules Barrière
Jules Barrière, who retired as judge of the Court of Québec for the judicial district of Hull in February 2009, devoted the majority of his professional life to helping the most disadvantaged individuals within our society. He began the practice of law in 1961 in the city of Hull. While in private practice, he participated in designing the model used for Québec’s legal aid system by working with its founding chairman.

From the moment the Legal Aid Service of the Hull Bar Association was established, he joined its ranks. In 1972, when the legal aid network was created, he became the first Director General appointed to head the Outaouais Community Legal Centre. He sat on the negotiating committee that forged a reciprocity agreement between the legal aid plans of Canada’s provinces and territories, thereby ensuring that residents most in need of help would have access to legal services.
Robert Sauvé
To find out more
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Commission/ Prix Robert-Sauvé

Prix Robert-Sauvé


 




Lauréats 2012

La Commission des services juridiques, a décerné le 8 novembre dernier, à Laval, les prix Robert-Sauvé 2012.

Le prix volet « grand public » a été remis à M. André Laurin pour sa contribution à la promotion de la justice sociale et, plus particulièrement, pour que les droits des Québécois en matière de consommation soient reconnus peu importe leur revenu et leur statut social.

Le prix Robert-Sauvé, volet « réseau » a été remis à M. Jules Barrière pour sa contribution à la promotion des droits des démunis par son travail, entre autres, à titre de directeur général du Centre communautaire juridique de l’Outaouais.

Me Denis Roy, président de la Commission des services juridiques, a remis les prix en présence du ministre de la Justice Me Bertrand St-Arnaud.



Volet « Grand public »

Monsieur André Laurin

Photo: Paul Ducharme

De gauche à droite : Me Bertrand St-Arnaud, ministre de la Justice, madame Bernadette Barrière, épouse du lauréat du prix Robert-Sauvé - volet réseau, Me Catherine Barrière-Gratton, petite-fille du lauréat et Me Denis Roy, prés
Monsieur André Laurin
Dès le début de sa carrière publique à la Confédération des syndicats nationaux, Monsieur André Laurin s’est intéressé en profondeur au problème de l’endettement des travailleurs au point où ses initiatives ont mené à la création des associations coopératives d’économie familiale, mieux connues sous le nom d’ACEF. De plus, il fut un pionnier dans le domaine de l’aide juridique au Québec, notamment en devenant le premier président du conseil d’administration du Centre communautaire juridique de Québec de 1973 à 1977.

Monsieur Laurin a aussi été le premier lauréat du Prix de l’Office de la protection du consommateur en 2003 et a reçu le Prix de la justice du Québec en 2009.

Volet « Réseau »

Monsieur Jules Barrière

Photo: Paul Ducharme
De gauche à droite : Me Bertrand St-Arnaud, ministre de la Justice, madame Bernadette Barrière, épouse du lauréat du prix Robert-Sauvé - volet réseau, Me Catherine Barrière-Gratton, petite-fille du lauréat et Me Denis Roy, préside
Monsieur Jules Barrière, juge retraité de la Cour du Québec du district judiciaire de Hull depuis février 2009, a consacré la majeure partie de sa vie professionnelle au service des plus démunis. Il a commencé à pratiquer le droit en 1961 dans la ville de Hull. Alors avocat en pratique privée, il a collaboré à l’élaboration du modèle québécois d’aide juridique en travaillant avec son président-fondateur.

Dès sa mise sur pied, il joint les rangs du Service de l’assistance judiciaire du Barreau de Hull. En 1972, lors de la création du réseau de l’aide juridique, il devient le premier directeur général à être nommé au Centre communautaire juridique de l’Outaouais. Il participe au comité des négociations pour obtenir une entente de réciprocité entre les régimes d’aide juridique des provinces et des territoires du Canada, assurant ainsi à leurs résidents les plus démunis une couverture de services juridiques.
Robert Sauvé
Pour en savoir plus
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017