| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
Legal Information/ Information campains

Legal Aid, Ju$tice at right price


Information Campaign on Legal Aid in Québec


Since 2006, the eligibility thresholds for legal aid have increased every year, resulting in a greater number of persons becoming potentially eligible for legal aid. In 2010, nearly 2,590,000 persons will be entitled to take advantage of services under the system.


It is essential that every person who is eligible for legal aid and is grappling with legal problems know that he or she can take advantage of the services of a lawyer to which he or she is entitled. These services may be provided at no cost or in consideration for the payment of a contribution, depending on the applicant's situation. The contributory scheme, which is often overlooked, allows persons who are not eligible for gratuitous legal aid to obtain the services of a lawyer in consideration for the payment of a contribution ranging from $100 to $800, depending on the person's income and, if applicable, that of his or her spouse. Unique to Québec, this component allows a person to know, in advance, the costs to be incurred for all the legal services required in a given case.


The CSJ has provided members of the public with access to a free practical checklist that quickly informs them about the eligibility criteria for the gratuitous and contributory schemes of the legal aid system as well as the services that are covered.


You can download the checklist or pick it up in any legal aid office in Québec.


Want to know more? Consult the information section below. It supplements the checklist and provides greater detail on some things you should be aware of. 


Picture of the section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Infos juridiques/ Campagnes d'information

L'aide juridique, la justice à coût sûr


Campagne d'information sur l'aide juridique au Québec

Depuis 2006, les seuils d'admissibilité à l'aide juridique sont haussés chaque année. Dorénavant, un plus grand nombre de personnes sont potentiellement admissibles à l'aide juridique. En 2010, près de 2 590 000 personnes pourront bénéficier des services du régime.

Il est primordial que toute personne admissible à l'aide juridique et aux prises avec des problèmes juridiques sache qu'elle peut bénéficier des services d'un avocat auxquels elle a droit. Ces services peuvent être rendus gratuitement ou moyennant le paiement d'une contribution, selon la situation du requérant. Méconnu, le volet contributif permet à une personne non admissible à l'aide juridique gratuite de bénéficier des services d'un avocat moyennant une contribution entre 100$ et 800$, selon son revenu et, s'il y a lieu, celui de son conjoint. Unique au Québec, ce volet permet de connaître à l'avance les coûts à débourser pour tous les services juridiques requis dans un dossier.

La CSJ met gratuitement à la disposition de la population un aide-mémoire
pratique qui permet de connaître rapidement les critères d'admissibilité des volets gratuit et contributif du régime d'aide juridique québécois ainsi que les services couverts.

Vous pouvez télécharger l'aide-mémoire
ou vous le procurer dans un bureau d'aide juridique.

Vous désirez en savoir plus ? Consultez la section d'information ci-dessous. Elle comprend, entre autres, un document d'information complémentaire à l'aide-mémoire qui vous renseignera plus en détails sur les éléments à connaître. Vous pouvez également consulter le site Web que vous visitez présentement. 


Photo de la section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017