| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
Legal Information/ Legal Briefs

Legal Briefs

Until 2010, these legal briefs provide examples of judgments pertaining to everyday situations. Beginning in 2012, they deal with various topics of general interest, such as rental issues, family law, human rights, civil liability, insurance, dealings between spouses and social aid. They are intended to inform and to prevent undesirable situations.


 


Legal Briefs 2018

  Month
Number
Legal brief
November
 09
Should I worry about a seizure if I am recipient of last resort assistance?This hypelink opens a PDF file in a new window.
Jasmin has just lost a case before the Régie du logement. He now owes his landlord $3,000. The landlord has told him he will seize everything he owns, which worries Jasmin, who is a recipient of last resort assistance.

First and foremost, Jasmin should know that the right resulting from a jud
more
October
 08
I just found out that I am not my child's fatherThis hypelink opens a PDF file in a new window.
Mario and Joanie (fictional names) have been living together for several years and have a child together. The act of birth of the child, whose name is Vincent, indicates Mario and Joanie as his parents. The couple separates when Vincent is seven years old. Despite the separation, Mario continues to more
August - September
 07
Réal lives in the Îles-de-la-Madeleine and wants know whether he is financially eligible for legal aidThis hypelink opens a PDF file in a new window.
Réal has been living in the Îles-de-la-Madeleine for close to 10 years and wants to get custody of his son Michel, who is 10 years old and lives with him.

Real has a yearly gross income of $32,050. He has $5,000 in the bank. 

He wonders whether he is financially eligible for legal
more
June-July
 06
What is bullying?This hypelink opens a PDF file in a new window.
Bullying, also known as intimidation, is repeated behaviour that is intended to cause fear, intimidation, humiliation, distress or other forms of harm to another person’s body, feelings, self-esteem, reputation or property: Bullying can be direct or indirect and can take place by physical, verbal or more
May
 05
Voluntary Disclosure ProgramThis hypelink opens a PDF file in a new window.
Perhaps you didn't fulfil all your obligations under the tax laws. For example, perhaps you failed to declare some income over the past few years. The voluntary disclosure program may allow you to rectify your tax situation.1

If your application more
April
 04
Voluntary depositThis hypelink opens a PDF file in a new window.
If you are having trouble paying your bills and your creditors are losing patience, voluntary deposit may be an interesting solution for you. It may allow you to avoid bankruptcy.

Voluntary deposit is dealt with in articles 664 and following of the Code of Civil Procedure of Québec.1&nbs
more
March
 03
Am I obliged to identify myself at the request of a police officer?This hypelink opens a PDF file in a new window.
As a general rule, despite the existence of a moral and social duty on the part of every citizen to answer questions from a police officer and assist the police,1a person does not have the obligation to disclose their identity to a police officer. However, it is important to realize that more
February
 02
Acknowledgements of debtThis hypelink opens a PDF file in a new window.
In January 2015, Alex lends Rose, his co-lessee, an amount of $3,000 to help her buy a used car. “I’ll pay you back very soon,” she promises. No document is signed. Time passes and Rose seems to have forgotten her debt. 

In June 2016, Rose, who no longer has a car, is about to move out i
more
January
 01
Can I object to a notice of assessment?This hypelink opens a PDF file in a new window.
You’ve just received a notice of assessment or determination from the government indicating that you owe a significant amount of money. You are completely flabbergasted, because there is no way you owe that much. In fact, you provided all the required documents. There must be a mistake! The followin more
 
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Infos juridiques/ Chroniques juridiques

Chroniques juridiques

Jusqu’en 2010, ces chroniques juridiques présentent des exemples de jugements reliés à des situations de la vie courante. À compter de 2012, elles portent sur différents sujets d’intérêt général tels le logement, la famille, les droits de la personne, la responsabilité civile, les assurances, les relations entre conjoints, l’aide sociale, etc. Elles visent à informer et à prévenir des situations non souhaitables.


 


Chroniques 2018

  Mois
Numéro
Chronique
Novembre
 09
Est-ce que je dois craindre une saisie lorsque je suis prestataire de l'aide de dernier recours?Cet hyperlien ouvre un fichier PDF dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
Jasmin vient de perdre dans une cause à la Régie du logement. Il a maintenant une créance de 3 000 $ envers le propriétaire. Le propriétaire lui indique qu’il va venir tout saisir ce qu’il possède, ce qui inquiète Jasmin qui est prestataire de l’aide de dernier recours.

D’emblée, il faut savo
plus
Octobre
 08
J'ai découvert que je ne suis pas le père de mon enfantCet hyperlien ouvre un fichier PDF dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
Mario et Joanie (noms fictifs) font vie commune depuis plusieurs années et ont donné naissance à un enfant prénommé Vincent. L’acte de naissance indique Mario et Joanie comme parents de Vincent. Le couple se sépare alors que Vincent est âgé de sept ans. Malgré la rupture, Mario continue de s’occuper plus
Août - Septembre
 07
Un résident des Îles-de-la-Madeleine veut savoir s'il est admissible financièrement à l'aide juridiqueCet hyperlien ouvre un fichier PDF dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
Réal réside aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine depuis bientôt 10 ans et il désire obtenir la garde de son fils Michel, âgé de 10 ans, qui vit avec lui.

Les revenus annuels bruts de Réal s’élèvent à 32 050 $. Il possède en banque une somme de 5 000 $.

Il se demande s’il est admissible financièrem
plus
Juin-Juillet
 06
L'intimidation, c'est quoi?Cet hyperlien ouvre un fichier PDF dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
L’intimidation est un comportement répété qui vise à créer un sentiment de peur, d’humiliation, de détresse ou autre forme de préjudices à une autre personne en ce qui a trait à sa condition physique, ses sentiments, son estime de soi, sa réputation ou ses biens. L’intimidation peut être directe ou plus
Mai
 05
Le programme de divulgation volontaireCet hyperlien ouvre un fichier PDF dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
Vous n’avez pas respecté toutes vos obligations prévues par les lois fiscales? plus
Avril
 04
Le dépôt volontaireCet hyperlien ouvre un fichier PDF dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
Si vous avez de la difficulté à payer vos comptes et que vos créanciers s’impatientent, le dépôt volontaire pourrait être une solution intéressante pour vous. Il peut vous permettre d’éviter la faillite.

Le dépôt volontaire est prévu aux articles 664 et suivants du Code de procédure civi
plus
Mars
 03
Suis-je obligé de m'identifier à la demande d'un policier?Cet hyperlien ouvre un fichier PDF dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
En règle générale, malgré l’existence d’un devoir moral et social de tout citoyen de répondre aux questions posées par les policiers et de leur prêter ainsi assistance1, une personne n’a pas l’obligation de révéler son identité à un policier. Toutefois, il est important de savoir qu’il ex plus
Février
 02
La reconnaissance de detteCet hyperlien ouvre un fichier PDF dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
En janvier 2015, Alex prête à Rose, sa colocataire, une somme de 3 000 $ pour l’aider à s’acheter une voiture d’occasion : « Je te rembourserai vite, vite, » promet-elle. Aucun document n’est signé. Le temps passe, et Rose semble avoir oublié sa dette. 


En juin 2016, Rose qui n’a plu
plus
Janvier
 01
Puis-je contester un avis de cotisation?Cet hyperlien ouvre un fichier PDF dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
Vous venez de recevoir un avis de cotisation ou de détermination du gouvernement qui vous indique que vous devez rembourser une somme importante. Vous n’y comprenez rien, c’est impossible que vous deviez ce montant. Vous avez pourtant fourni tous les documents qu’ils vous ont demandés. Il y a certai plus
 
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017