| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
News room/ De Facto union

Highlights 2006-2007


Second Increase in eligibility thresholds

On January 1, 2007, legal aid eligibility thresholds were increased for the second consecutive year. They had previously been increased on January 26, 2006 following enactment of the Regulation modifying the Regulation respecting legal aid, by Order in Council 1277-2005 on December 21, 2005. The Regulation provided for annual increases up to and including January 1, 2010 inclusively. The 2006 increases were the first since 1982 for a person living alone and the first since 1996 for families. The Commission made a public announcement of this historic “unfreezing”.

Publication of a new pamphlet on Legal Aid

The Commission published a new pamphlet entitled L’aide juridique, un coup de main de maître, in French, and Legal aid lending a judicious hand in English, to explain the legal aid system and the new financial eligibility criteria.

Key decisions by the Commissioners

The Commissioners adopted a Sustainable Development Plan based on two main principles: long-term sustainability of legal aid and maintenance of a blended legal aid system. They also adopted the following guidelines and policies: Guiding Principles for a Policy on Use of the Computer Information and Telecommunications System; Policy on Use of the Commission’s Computer Information and Telecommunications System; Declaration of the Fundamental Values of the Québec Public Service; Policy for Evaluation of Management and Awarding of Bonuses.

Successful negotiations with support staff working at the Commission and nine Regional Centres

On March 5, 2007, the Commission and nine Regional Centres signed a new collective agreement with their support staff, who had been without a contract for three years. This new collective agreement readjusted the salary scales of legal secretaries to a level equal to those of legal secretaries in two Regional Centres who were benefiting from a 2005 arbitration decision on pay relativity.

Pay equity

The Commission has asked the government to amend the Legal Aid Act to declare it the sole employer of the legal aid network for pay equity purposes. Before making this request, the Commission first secured the consent of the 11 Regional Centres, representatives of support employees, lawyers and the representative of management. If the National Assembly adopts this proposal, the legal aid network can go ahead with work on pay equity by creating a single pay equity committee for the entire legal aid network.

Implementation of a new tool to evaluate the application of the Legal Aid Act

The Commission, in cooperation with the Regional Centres, created a new evaluation tool to assess how the Legal Aid Act and related regulations are applied as regards eligibility decisions. Once a year, the Commission randomly selects applications for legal aid from those filed in the previous fiscal year. The selection takes into account the number of applications approved in each region on a pro rata basis. The verification is carried out in accordance with section 91 of the Legal Aid Act, which requires the Commission des services juridiques and all Regional Centres to ensure the confidentiality of communications with legal aid applicants.

Change in accounting methods and the Auditor General’s Report

In keeping with accounting principles generally accepted in Canada and the recommendations of the Auditor General in his report to the National Assembly for 2004-2005, the Commission and 11 Regional Centres now account for all of their income and expenses using the accrual method. This change was noted in the Auditor General’s report for 2005-2006.

Report of the Task Force on Modernization of Government

The report of the Task Force on State Modernization (2005-2006) was released in June 2006. The report recommended maintaining the Commission des services juridiques and its Review Committee, and conducting a study on case-cost estimates.

Robert-Sauvé Award

The Robert-Sauvé Award in the Public award was given to Ruth Gagnon, director general of the Elizabeth Fry Society of Québec, for her community involvement with women caught up in the criminal justice system. The Robert-Sauvé Award in the Network award went to Mtre Jacques Racine, former director of the Centre régional d’aide juridique du Bas Saint-Laurent - Gaspésie et de la Côte-Nord, for his valuable work in setting up a computer system.

Involvement in the Legal Aid Community

During the 2006-2007 fiscal year, the Commission and the Regional Centres took part in meetings with Canadian and foreign legal aid organizations with a view to sharing their expertise with those groups.

Two permanent staff lawyers were elected to lead their regional bars: Mtre Benoît Boucher, Barreau de Richelieu and Mtre Louise Levasseur, Barreau Bas Saint-Laurent – Gaspésie - Îles-de-la-Madeleine.

Several staff lawyers were appointed to the Court of Québec: Mtre Pierre Bélisle, Mtre Mario Gervais, Mtre Richard Marleau and Me Jean Roy.

Also, Mtre Lise Bibeau was appointed to the Tribunal administratif du Québec and Mtre Julie Caumartin was appointed to the Municipal Court for the City of Montreal.

Last but not least, Mtre Mario Proulx received a Recognition Award from the Barreau de Saint-François and Mtre Claude Beaulieu was awarded a Medal of Merit from the Barreau du Saguenay – Lac Saint-Jean. 

Picture of the section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Salle de presse/ Faits saillants

Faits saillants 2006-2007


La deuxième hausse des seuils d’admissibilité

Le 1er janvier 2007, les seuils d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique ont été augmentés pour la deuxième année consécutive. Une première augmentation avait eu lieu le 26 janvier 2006, à la suite de l’adoption du Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur l’aide juridique, édicté par le décret 1277-2005 du 21 décembre 2005. Ce règlement prévoit des augmentations annuelles jusqu’au 1er janvier 2010 inclusivement. En 2006, il s’agissait de la première hausse depuis 1982 pour les personnes seules et depuis 1996 pour les familles. La Commission a informé la population de ce dégel historique.

La publication d’un nouveau dépliant expliquant le régime d’aide juridique

La Commission a publié un nouveau dépliant intitulé L’aide juridique, un coup de main de maître, en français, et Legal aid lending a judicious hand, en anglais, pour expliquer le régime d’aide juridique et présenter les nouveaux seuils d’admissibilité.

Les décisions marquantes des commissaires

Les commissaires ont adopté le Plan de développement durable basé sur les deux principes suivants : la pérennité et le maintien de la mixité du régime. Ils ont aussi adopté les Principes directeurs de la politique d’utilisation du système informatique et de télécommunication et la Politique d’utilisation du système informatique et de télécommunication de la Commission, la Déclaration de valeurs de l’administration publique québécoise et la Politique d’évaluation des cadres et distribution d’un boni.

Le règlement des négociations avec les employés de soutien de la Commission et de neuf centres régionaux

Le 5 mars 2007, la Commission et neuf centres régionaux ont signé une nouvelle convention collective avec leurs employés de soutien, qui étaient sans convention depuis 3 ans. Cette nouvelle convention collective permet le réajustement de l’échelle de rémunération salariale des secrétaires juridiques au même niveau que celui des secrétaires juridiques des deux centres régionaux qui avaient bénéficié d’une décision arbitrale sur la relativité salariale, en 2005.

L’équité salariale

La Commission a fait des démarches auprès du gouvernement pour faire modifier la Loi sur l’aide juridique afin d’être déclarée, pour les fins de l’équité salariale, l’employeur unique du réseau de l’aide juridique. Pour ce faire, elle a obtenu l’accord des onze centres régionaux, des représentants des employés de soutien et des avocats, de même que du représentant des cadres. Advenant l’adoption de ce projet de loi par l’Assemblée nationale, le réseau de l’aide juridique pourra ainsi procéder aux travaux sur l’équité salariale en formant un seul comité d’équité salariale pour l’ensemble du réseau de l’aide juridique.

La mise en place d’un nouvel outil d’évaluation de l’application de la Loi sur l’aide juridique

La Commission, de concert avec les centres régionaux, a mis en place un nouvel outil d’évaluation afin de contrôler l’application de la Loi sur l’aide juridique et de son règlement quant au traitement des dossiers d’admissibilité. Une fois par année, la Commission des services juridiques sélectionne de façon aléatoire des demandes d’aide juridique parmi toutes les demandes acceptées durant l’année financière précédente. Cette sélection tient compte du prorata des demandes acceptées par région. La vérification se fait selon les conditions prévues par l’article 91 de la Loi sur l’aide juridique qui oblige la Commission des services juridiques et tous les centres régionaux à respecter la confidentialité des communications des requérants de l’aide juridique.

La migration comptable et le rapport du Vérificateur général

La Commission et les onze centres régionaux ont comptabilisé l’ensemble de leurs produits et de leurs charges suivant la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice, conformément aux principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada, suivant ainsi la recommandation du Vérificateur général dans son rapport à l’Assemblée nationale pour l’année 2004-2005. Cet effort a été souligné dans le rapport du Vérificateur général à l’Assemblée nationale pour l’année 2005-2006.

Le rapport du Groupe de travail sur l’examen des organismes du gouvernement

Le rapport du Groupe de travail sur l’examen des organismes du gouvernement 2005-2006 a été rendu public en juin 2006. Il recommande le maintien de la Commission des services juridiques et de son Comité de révision de même que l’étude du coût de revient des dossiers.

L’attribution du prix Robert-Sauvé

Le prix Robert-Sauvé, volet grand public, a été décerné à madame Ruth Gagnon, directrice générale de la Société Élizabeth Fry du Québec, pour son implication communautaire auprès des femmes aux prises avec le système de justice pénale. Le prix Robert-Sauvé, volet réseau, a été remis à Me Jacques Racine, directeur à la retraite du Centre régional d’aide juridique du Bas Saint-Laurent - Gaspésie et de la Côte-Nord, pour son travail considérable quant à l’implantation du système informatique.

Le rayonnement dans le milieu juridique

Au cours de l’exercice financier 2006-2007, la Commission et les centres régionaux ont participé à des rencontres avec des organisations d’aide juridique canadiennes ou étrangères afin de partager avec eux leur expertise en matière d’aide juridique.

Deux avocats permanents ont été élus au bâtonnat de leur section, Me Benoît Boucher, Barreau du Richelieu et Me Louise Levasseur, Barreau Bas Saint-Laurent – Gaspésie - Îles-de-la-Madeleine.

Plusieurs avocats permanents ont été nommés juge à la Cour du Québec : Me Pierre Bélisle, Me Mario Gervais, Me Richard Marleau et Me Jean Roy.

De plus, Me Lise Bibeau, a été nommée décideur au Tribunal administratif du Québec et Me Julie Caumartin a été nommée juge à la Cour municipale de la Ville de Montréal.

Enfin, Me Mario Proulx a reçu le prix de reconnaissance du Mérite du Barreau de Saint-François et Me Claude Beaulieu a reçu la médaille du Mérite du Barreau du Saguenay – Lac Saint-Jean. 

Photo de la section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017