| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
News room/ De Facto union

Highlights 2016-2017


INDEXATION OF THE ELIGIBILITY THRESHOLDS

On May 31, 2016, pursuant to the Regulation to amend the Regulation respecting legal aid (O.C. 1280-2013, (2013) 145 G.O. II 3610, as amended by O.C. 385-2015, (2015) 147 G.O. II 823), the eligibility thresholds for free legal aid were increased by 1.90%. This percentage is equal to the increase in the minimum wage on May 1, 2016. Recall that on January 1, 2016, the legal aid eligibility thresholds had been increased, with the minimum wage as a reference point. 

Thus a person who is single and works a 35-hour week at minimum wage, namely, $19,565 per year, will be eligible for legal aid at no cost. Moreover, legal aid services will be free to a family of two adults and two children whose income is less than $32,081.

The Québec legal aid plan also includes a component for individuals whose income falls between the eligibility thresholds for free legal aid and the maximum thresholds requiring a contribution (contributory legal aid). The contributory scheme allows an individual to receive legal services if his or her income, assets and liquidities match the eligibility scale in effect and if the individual pays a contribution ranging from $100 to $800, depending on the composition of the person’s family and the person’s financial situation. The eligibility scale for legal aid under the contributory scheme also increased by 1.90%.

In summary, the changes to the eligibility criteria for legal aid affect working people with modest incomes as well as seniors whose principal source of income is their Old Age Security benefits and the Guaranteed Income Supplement. 

MODERNIZATION OF THE ACT RESPECTING LEGAL AID AND THE PROVISION OF CERTAIN OTHER LEGAL SERVICES

During the most recently completed fiscal year, a joint committee comprised of the Ministère de la Justice and the Commission des services juridiques, and chaired by Me Renée Madore, Associate Deputy Minister at the Ministère de la Justice, was established in order to modernize the Act respecting legal aid and the provision of certain other legal services and its regulations, particularly in light of the new Code of Civil Procedure which favours dispute prevention and resolution methods. This committee created an internal subcommittee within the legal aid network, of which the Vice-Chairman, the Secretary and the directors general of the community legal centres of l’Estrie, Montréal and the Outaouais are members.

MANAGEMENT OF LEGAL AID ELIGIBILITY

Last year saw a consolidation of the management of legal aid eligibility. The policy regarding the handling of applications was modernized, the eligibility software program and user guide were updated and the Commission developed training webinars and established a documentation policy, these are but some examples of the collective resourcesmade available to all professionals in the legal aid network in order to ensure the consistent and uniform handling of legal aid applications throughout the network.

 All those involved, at all levels of the legal aid process, were sensitized via thecommunication of expectations and the carrying out of verifications to the importance ofmanaging the legal aid system. 


DELAYS IN CRIMINAL AND PENAL MATTERS 

In March 2016, as part of the Table Justice-Québec, the Minister of Justice, Me Stéphanie Vallée, brought together all the relevant partners from within the legal system, including the Commission des services juridiques, to work on developing a strategy to reduce delays in criminal matters. On July 8, 2016, at which point the work was well underway, the Supreme Court of Canada rendered a very important ruling in a criminal matter (R. v. Jordan, 2016 SCC 27). The Court imposed new guidelines for the delay between the filing of charges and the end of the trial, in order to ensure that an accused is judged within a reasonable period of time. 


On December 7, 2016, the Minister of Justice presented a strategy arising from the Table Justice-Québec’s action plan which provides for massive investments of $175.2 million over four years, including the creation of 16 new positions for judges on the Court of Québec, the hiring of 45 additional prosecutors working for the Director of Criminal and Penal Prosecutions (DCPP), of which 15 have already been hired, the hiring of 60 support staff for DCPP prosecutors, a new courtroom in Montréal and two new courtrooms in Laval. 

In December 2016, the Commission des services juridiques sent the Ministère de la Justice a study setting out its needs for additional resources for the legal aid network. The foregoing was based on the fact that approximately 75% of criminal matters are handled within the legal aid system, either by legal aid staff lawyers or lawyers in private practice. As at March 31, 2017, the Commission des services juridiques was awaiting a favourable response to its request for 20 lawyers and 27 support staff. 

The Commission des services juridiques has and will continue to participate in the various forums on the modernization of justice which seek to implement the government’s strategy. 


NEGOTIATION OF COLLECTIVE AGREEMENTS

Given that the collective agreements for lawyers and office employees expired on March 31, 2015, a single management negotiating committee was established last year for all of the negotiating tables (4 negotiating tables for office employees and one negotiating table for lawyers) and, during 2016-2017, it participated in negotiation meetings with the union representatives for the office employees and lawyers. Its purpose is to ensure uniformity and consistency in the working conditions offered to all of the unionized professionals and employees in the legal aid network, taking regional considerations into account. 

The Vice-Chairman and the Secretary of the Commission des services juridiques are the committee’s spokespersons and are being assisted by the directors general of the Laurentides-Lanaudière, Montréal and Mauricie-Bois-Francs community legal centres. 

One of the major issues in this round of negotiations with the office employees is their work schedule. 

ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE OF THE COMMISSION DES SERVICES JURIDIQUES

During the 2016-2017 fiscal year, Me Denis Roy, who had been Chairman of the Commissiondes services juridiques for twelve years, retired. The Vice-Chairman, Me Yvan Niquette, was appointed Chairman and Me Daniel LaFrance, who held the position of Secretary of the Commission, was appointed Vice-Chairman. Me Richard La Charité, who was the Lawyer Delegated to the Review Committee, became Interim Secretary and Me Marie-Claude Marcil, who was the director of the Crémazie office of the Community Legal Centre of Montréal, took on the position of Interim director Delegated to the Review Committee. 

In addition, the Cabinet recently appointed four new Commissioners, namely, Me Amélie Binette, Me Johanne Brodeur, Me Marie-Josée Hétu and Me Nadine Le Gal. These nominations had been highly awaited, given that two meetings of the Commissioners had had to be cancelled due to a lack of quorum, which, according to law, is a minimum of seven members (including the Chairman and the Vice-Chairman). 


Following the retirement of Me Gilles Daoust, Director of the Research and Litigation Department, the Commission des services juridiques carried out a restructuring. The positions of Director of the Research and Litigation Department, Director of the Department for the Approval of Private Practice Fees and the Management of Certain Services Other than Legal Aid, and Director of the Service administratif de rajustement des pensions alimentaires pour enfants [child support recalculation service] (SARPA) were abolished. The position of Assistant Senior Director of Administration was created to combine all of these legal services under a single post. This legal managerial position is equivalent to that of Assistant Director General and is held by Me Odette Legendre. 

ACT RESPECTING WORKFORCE MANAGEMENT AND CONTROL WITHIN GOVERNMENT DEPARTMENTS, PUBLIC SECTOR BODIES AND NETWORKS AND STATE-OWNED ENTERPRISES (AWMC) 

On December 5, 2014, the Act respecting workforce management and control within government departments, public sector bodies and networks and state-owned enterprises (AWMC) (CQLR, c. G-1.011) came into force. 

The statute provides for control measures in relation to the staffing level of public bodies for each period specified by the Conseil du trésor. It also establishes special measures for service contracts that a public body intends to enter into during the periods subject to workforce control measures, including making such service contracts subject to the authorization of the Chairman of the Commission des services juridiques and giving the Chair of the Conseil du trésor oversight powers. 

For the third year in a row, within the scope of this statute, the Commission des services juridiques implemented various reporting mechanisms through which it will be able to determine whether the government targets have been met. 


INTERNATIONAL COOPERATION

On April 25, 2016, the Commission des services juridiques was host to a delegation of Ukrainian lawyers. The meeting provided an opportunity to discuss the differences between the Ukrainian and Québec legal aid systems. 

From February 7 to 11, 2017, the Commission des services juridiques welcomed a Belgian delegation composed of 10 lawyers in charge of legal aid offices. The purpose of the visit was to obtain information about Québec’s legal aid network and the Act respecting legal aid and the provision of certain other legal services and, in particular, to learn more about salaried lawyers. Delegation members visited the offices of the Commission des services juridiques, the St-Hyacinthe legal aid office, a private law firm in St-Hyacinthe, the Longueuil and Montreal courthouses and the immigration law legal aid office in Montréal. The delegation met, among others, with lawyers who are full-time legal aid employees and with the Associate Chief Justice of the Court of Québec, Youth Division. 


MAINTENANCE OF PAY EQUITY


Over the course of the previous year, the Commission des services juridiques completed its work related to maintaining pay equity for December 2011 and December 2016. 

Picture of the section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Salle de presse/ Faits saillants

Faits saillants 2016-2017



  • INDEXATION DES SEUILS D’ADMISSIBILITÉ

Le 31 mai 2016, les seuils d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique gratuite ont été haussés de 1,90 % par le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur l’aide juridique (Décret 1280-2013, (2013) 145 G.O. II 5539 modifié par le décret 385-2015, (2015) 147 G.O. II 1333). Ce pourcentage correspond à celui de la hausse du salaire minimum du 1er mai 2016. Rappelons que le 1er janvier 2016, les seuils de l’admissibilité à l’aide juridique avaient été haussés, avec comme référence le salaire minimum. 

Ainsi, une personne seule complétant une semaine de travail de 35 heures au salaire minimum, soit 19 565 $ par année, est admise gratuitement à l’aide juridique.  De plus, les services seront gratuits pour une famille formée de deux adultes et de deux enfants dont les revenus sont inférieurs à 32 081 $.

Le régime québécois d’aide juridique comporte également un volet pour les personnes dont les revenus se situent entre les seuils de l’admissibilité gratuite et les seuils maximums avec contribution (volet contributif). Ce volet permet à une personne de recevoir des services juridiques si ses revenus, biens et liquidités correspondent au barème d’admissibilité en vigueur et si elle verse une contribution financière variant entre 100 $ et 800 $, selon sa composition familiale et sa situation financière. Le barème d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique sous le volet contributif est également haussé de 1,90 %.

En somme, ces modifications des critères de l’admissibilité à l’aide juridique touchent celles et ceux qui travaillent et dont les revenus sont modestes, ainsi que les aînés qui ont comme source principale de revenus les prestations de la Sécurité de la vieillesse et le Supplément de revenu garanti. 


  • MODERNISATION DE LA LOI SUR L’AIDE JURIDIQUE ET SUR LA PRESTATION DE CERTAINS AUTRES SERVICES JURIDIQUES

Au cours du dernier exercice financier, un comité mixte du ministère de la Justice et de la Commission des services juridiques, sous la présidence de Me Renée Madore, sous-ministre associée au ministère de la Justice, a été mis sur pied afin de procéder à la modernisation de la Loi sur l’aide juridique et sur la prestation de certains autres services juridiques et de ses règlements, et ce, compte tenu, notamment du nouveau Code de procédure civile qui favorise des modes de prévention et de règlement des différends. De ce comité est né un sous-comité interne du réseau de l’aide juridique et auquel participent le vice-président, le secrétaire et les directeurs généraux des Centres communautaires juridiques de l’Estrie, de Montréal et de l’Outaouais. 


  •  GESTION DE L’ADMISSIBILITÉ À L’AIDE JURIDIQUE 

La dernière année en a été une marquée par la consolidation de la gestion de l’admissibilité à l’aide juridique. 

La modernisation de la Politique sur le traitement des demandes, l’actualisation du logiciel d’admissibilité et de son guide d’utilisation, le développement de capsules de formation de type « webinaire » et la conception d’une Politique sur la documentation sont des exemples d’outils communs mis à la disposition de l’ensemble des professionnels afin de s’assurer d’un traitement cohérent et uniforme des demandes d’aide juridique pour tout le réseau. 

L’entièreté des intervenants de tous les niveaux ont été sensibilisés à l’importance de la mission que constitue la gestion du régime d’aide juridique, notamment par des attentes signifiées à cet égard et par des exercices de vérifications. 


  • DÉLAIS EN MATIÈRES CRIMINELLE ET PÉNALE 

En mars 2016, la ministre de la Justice, MStéphanie Vallée a réuni au sein de la Table Justice-Québec l’ensemble des partenaires du milieu juridique concernés y compris la Commission des services juridiques afin de travailler à l’élaboration d’une stratégie visant à réduire les délais en matière criminelle. Alors que les travaux étaient avancés, le 8 juillet 2016, la Cour suprême du Canada a rendu un important jugement en matière criminelle (R. c. Jordan, 2016 CSC 27). La Cour impose de nouvelles balises entre le dépôt d’accusations et la conclusion du procès afin que l’accusé soit jugé dans un délai raisonnable. 

Le 7 décembre 2016, la ministre de la Justice a présenté une stratégie découlant du Plan d’action de la Table Justice-Québec qui prévoit des investissements massifs de 175,2 millions de dollars sur une période de quatre ans, à savoir, notamment la création de 16 nouveaux postes de juges à la Cour du Québec, l’embauche de 45 procureurs additionnels au Directeur des poursuites criminelles et pénales (DPCP), dont 15 déjà embauchés, 60 effectifs en soutien aux procureurs du DPCP, une nouvelle salle d’audience à Montréal et deux salles d’audience à Laval. 

Dès décembre 2016, la Commission des services juridiques a transmis auprès du ministère de la Justice une étude et présentation des besoins en ressources additionnelles pour le réseau d’aide juridique. Ces derniers avaient comme assises qu’environ 75 % des dossiers en matière criminelle se font sous le couvert du régime d’aide juridique, soit par des avocats permanents, soit par des avocats de la pratique privée. Au 31 mars 2017, la Commission des services juridiques était dans l’attente de recevoir une réponse favorable à sa demande d’effectifs de 20 avocats et 27 membres du personnel de soutien. 

Par ailleurs, la Commission des services juridiques a participé et continuera d’être présente aux différents Forums sur la modernisation de la justice visant la mise en œuvre de la stratégie gouvernementale. 


  • NÉGOCIATIONS DES CONVENTIONS COLLECTIVES

Les conventions collectives des avocats et des employés de bureau étant échues depuis le 31 mars 2015, un comité de négociation patronal unique à toutes les tables (4 tables de négociations pour les employés de bureau et une seule pour les avocats) a été mis sur pied l’année derrière et a, au cours de l’année 2016-2017, participé à des rencontres de négociation avec les représentants syndicaux des employés de bureau et des avocats. Il a pour objectif de s’assurer de l’uniformité et de la cohérence dans les conditions de travail offertes à l’ensemble des professionnels et employés syndiqués du réseau de l’aide juridique dans le respect des particularités régionales. 

Ainsi, le vice-président et le secrétaire de la Commission des services juridiques agissent à titre de porte-parole et ils sont accompagnés des directrices générales des Centres communautaires juridiques de Laurentides-Lanaudière et de Montréal et du directeur général du Centre communautaire juridique de Mauricie-Bois-Francs. 

Notons qu’un des enjeux majeurs de la présente ronde de négociation avec les employés de bureau est l’horaire de travail. 


  • CONTEXTE ORGANISATIONNEL À LA COMMISSION DES SERVICES JURIDIQUES

Au cours de l’exercice 2016-2017, la Commission des services juridiques a connu le départ à la retraite de son président, Me Denis Roy, et ce, après douze ans. Le vice-président, Me Yvan Niquette a été nommé président et Me Daniel LaFrance, vice-président alors qu’il occupait auparavant le poste de secrétaire de la Commission.  Me Richard La Charité, avocat délégué au Comité de révision, est devenu le secrétaire par intérim et Me Marie-Claude Marcil, directrice du bureau de Crémazie au Centre communautaire juridique de Montréal, occupe par intérim le poste de directrice déléguée au Comité de révision. 

Aussi, quatre nouveaux commissaires ont été nommés par le Conseil des ministres, à savoir Me Amélie Binette,    Me Johanne Brodeur, Me Marie-Josée Hétu et Me Nadine Le Gal. Ces nominations étaient très attendues compte tenu que deux assemblées générales des commissaires avaient dû être annulées en raison de l’absence de quorum, le minimum de membres présents requis par la loi étant de sept (y compris le président et le vice-président). 

À la suite du départ à la retraite de Me Gilles Daoust, directeur au Service de recherche et du contentieux, la Commission des services juridiques a procédé à une restructuration. Ainsi, les postes de directeur du Service de recherche et du contentieux, de directeur du Service de l’approbation des honoraires de la pratique privée et gestion de certains services autres que l’aide juridique et de directeur du Service administratif de rajustement des pensions alimentaires pour enfants (SARPA) ont été abolis. Un poste de directeur principal adjoint de l’administration a été créé afin de regrouper tous ces services juridiques sous une même direction. Ce poste de cadre juridique est l’équivalent d’un directeur général adjoint et est occupé par Me Odette Legendre. 


  • LA LOI SUR LA GESTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES EFFECTIFS DES MINISTÈRES, DES ORGANISMES ET DES RÉSEAUX DU SECTEUR PUBLIC AINSI QUE DES SOCIÉTÉS D’ÉTAT (LGCE) 

Le 5 décembre 2014 entrait en vigueur la Loi sur la gestion et le contrôle des effectifs des ministères, des organismes et des réseaux du secteur public ainsi que des sociétés d’État (LGCE) (RLRQ, c. G-1.011). 

Cette loi prévoit la mise en place de mesures de contrôle du niveau d’effectif d’organismes publics applicables à l’égard de chaque période déterminée par le Conseil du trésor. Elle établit également des mesures particulières applicables aux contrats de services qu’un organisme entend conclure pendant les périodes soumises à des mesures de contrôle de l’effectif, entre autres en assujettissant leur conclusion à une autorisation du président de la Commission des services juridiques et en conférant au président du Conseil du trésor un pouvoir de surveillance. 

Dans le cadre de cette loi, pour une troisième année consécutive, la Commission des services juridiques a mis en œuvre divers mécanismes de reddition de comptes lui permettant de valider l’atteinte éventuelle des cibles gouvernementales. 


  • COLLABORATION INTERNATIONALE

La Commission des services juridiques a reçu une délégation de juristes ukrainiens le 25 avril 2016. Cette rencontre a permis d’échanger sur les différences entre le régime d’aide juridique québécois et celui de l’Ukraine. 

La Commission des services juridiques a accueilli du 7 au 11 février 2017 une délégation belge composée de 10 avocats responsables de bureaux d’aide juridique. Le but de la visite était d’obtenir des informations sur le réseau québécois de l’aide juridique, sur la Loi sur l’aide juridique et sur la prestation de certains autres services juridiques et surtout en apprendre plus sur les avocats salariés. Les membres de la délégation ont visité les bureaux de la Commission des services juridiques, le bureau d’aide juridique de St-Hyacinthe, un bureau d’avocats de la pratique privée de St-Hyacinthe, les palais de justice de Longueuil et de Montréal et le bureau d’aide juridique Droit de l’immigration à Montréal. La délégation a rencontré, notamment des avocats permanents de l’aide juridique et le juge en chef adjoint de la Cour du Québec, Chambre de la jeunesse. 


  • MAINTIEN DE L’ÉQUITÉ SALARIALE

La Commission des services juridiques a terminé au cours de la dernière année ses travaux liés au maintien de l’équité salariale de décembre 2011 et de décembre 2016. 


Photo de la section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017