| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
News room/ Highlights

Highlights 2017-2018


UPGRADING OF HUMAN RESOURCES – JUDICIAL WAIT TIMES

In March 2016, as part of the Table Justice-Québec, the Minister of Justice, Me Stéphanie Vallée, brought together all the relevant partners from within the legal system, including the Commission des services juridiques, to work on developing a strategy to reduce wait times in criminal matters. On July 8, 2016, at which point the work was well underway, the Supreme Court of Canada rendered a very important ruling in a criminal case (R. v. Jordan, 2016 SCC 27), establishing guidelines for determining what can be considered a reasonable delay: 18 months for cases heard before the Court of Québec and 30 months for cases heard before the Superior Court. 
At the end of 2016, in the wake of this judgment, the Government of Québec took concrete steps via a significant reinvestment in the justice system, allocating more than $175 over a period of four years and providing, among other things, for the hiring of staff in the office of the Director of Criminal and Penal Prosecutions, within the judiciary and at the Ministère de la Sécurité publique as well as the addition of new courtrooms (Stratégie d’action gouvernementale visant à contribuer à la réduction des délais en matière criminelle et pénale [government strategy for reducing wait times in criminal and penal matters] ). 

Within this context, in December 2016, the Commission des services juridiques sent the Ministère de la Justice its Étude et présentation des besoins en ressources additionnelles [study setting out needs for additional resources] for the legal aid network. The foregoing was based on the fact that approximately 75% of criminal matters are handled within the legal aid system, either by legal aid staff lawyers or lawyers in private practice, and that case processing times must remain reasonable. 

As a result, pursuant to a May 16, 2017 decision of the Conseil du trésor made in keeping with the government strategy mentioned above, the Commission des services juridiques was authorized to hire additional resources: 20 lawyers and 27 office employees. As of March 31, 2018, all these staff positions had been filled.


INFLUX OF ASYLUM SEEKERS

Since July 2017, Québec has seen a significant increase in the number of asylum seekers from the United States.
At its height, up to 500 people per day were seeking asylum in Canada. Under normal circumstances, the Community Legal Centre of Montreal (CLCM) handles approximately 6,000 applications for asylum per year. In 2017-2018, it processed 12,000 applications for asylum. Ordinarily, there are 35 appointments per day. Since August 2017, the number of appointments per day has gradually increased to 90. In addition, there are clients without an appointment who, in accordance with section 38 of the Regulation respecting legal aid (CQLR, c. A-14, r.2), must have their eligibility for legal aid reexamined before their hearing on the merits.

Under these circumstances, additional temporary staff members were added: two lawyers and three support staff in August 2017 and two lawyers and three support staff in January 2018.

It should be noted that, due to insufficient rental space, it was not possible to hire all additional resources on a timely basis. A recent intervention with the Société québécoise des infrastructures will finally make it possible for the CLCM to have access to temporary premises.

In order to ensure that wait times for appointments do not exceed eight to ten weeks, as of July 2017, the CLCM opened one Saturday out of every two and asked certain employees to work two evenings per week; it also had to retain the services of a security firm to manage clients who were clogging up the building's hallways to the detriment of other tenants.

Until the summer of 2017, clients seeking asylum could get an appointment within two weeks, but wait times are currently six to eight weeks. With the additional rental space, it will be possible to hire the authorized additional staff and wait times for appointments should be kept down to six weeks.

As at March 31, 2018, a request to amend section 38 of the Regulation respecting legal aid (CQLR, c. A-14, r.2), supported by Québec's Ministère de la Justice, was being studied by the government. If the amendment passes, it will eliminate the obligation to have a recipient's financial eligibility reexamined within 15 days following receipt by the recipient of a notice of hearing before the Refugee Protection Division of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada. 


INDEXATION OF THE ELIGIBILITY THRESHOLDS AND SUMMARY OF THE SUCCESSIVE INCREASES
>
On May 31, 2017, pursuant to the Regulation to amend the Regulation respecting legal aid(O.C. 1280-2013, (2013) 145 G.O. II 3610, as amended by O.C. 385-2015, (2015) 147 G.O. II 823), the eligibility thresholds for free legal aid were increased by 4.7%. This percentage is equal to the increase in the minimum wage on May 1, 2017. On January 1, 2016, the legal aid eligibility thresholds had been increased, with the minimum wage as a reference point. 

Thus a person who is single and works a 35-hour week at minimum wage, namely, $20,475 per year, is eligible for legal aid at no cost. Moreover, legal aid services are free to a family of two adults and two children whose income is less than $33,575.

The Québec legal aid plan also includes a component for individuals whose income falls between the eligibility thresholds for free legal aid and the maximum thresholds requiring a contribution (contributory legal aid). The contributory scheme offers a unique formula that allows individuals to be represented in court by a lawyer while knowing, in advance, the maximum amount of their legal fees and the costs that may be claimed from them. The contributory scheme allows an individual to receive legal services if his or her income, assets and liquidities match the eligibility scale in effect and if the individual pays a contribution ranging from $100 to $800, depending on the composition of the person's family and the person's financial situation. The eligibility scale for legal aid under the contributory scheme was also increased by 4.7%.

In summary, the enhanced financial eligibility criteria for legal aid affect working people with modest incomes as well as seniors whose principal source of income is their Old Age Security benefits and the Guaranteed Income Supplement.

Here is the changes in the eligibility thresholds since the increases began in 2005:

  • In 12 years, for a single person, the scale changed from $8,870 to $20,475, an increase of 130.8%.
  • In 12 years, for a single person, the maximum scale changed from $12,640 to $28,599, an increase of 126.2%.
In addition, the Commission des services juridiques developed tools to evaluate the number of applicants who, were it not for the increase in the financial eligibility thresholds for legal aid since January 1, 2014, would not have qualified for legal aid. For the 2017-2018 year, the number of applicants amounted to 18,838.

WORKING CONDITIONS AND LABOUR RELATIONS

During fiscal 2017-2018, the Commission des services juridiques and the union representing its office employees signed a new collective agreement which will be in effect until March 31, 2020. The same is true for all the regional centres comprising the legal aid network. In order to promote a work-life balance, the Commission des services juridiques and the regional centres of Abitibi-Témiscamingue, the Lower St. Lawrence–Gaspé Peninsula, the Eastern Townships, the Mauricie-Bois-Francs, the Outaouais and the South Shore implemented a flexible work week pilot project. 

These collective agreements provide the network's employees with working conditions comparable to those of employees in the public sector. We hope they will also allow employers in the legal aid network to compete within the job market.

Given that the collective agreements for lawyers expired on March 31, 2015, the management negotiating committee representing the twelve employers in the network participated in negotiation sessions with the union representatives for the lawyers. While the monetary clauses are still under negotiation, an agreement in principle was reached on all matters involving normative aspects. 

Lawyers in the legal aid network are seeking continued overall pay parity with lawyers employed by the Director of Criminal and Penal Prosecutions, without however asking for the same negotiation method.

Once again this year, the Comité cohérence (consistency committee) created by the Table des directeurs généraux (rountable of directors general) gathered to propose uniform methods, particularly as regards the hiring process.

In addition, the Commission des services juridiques is currently examining salary relativity. Work has begun with a view to ensuring internal equity between the various employment classes for all of the network's employees.

Lastly, in keeping with the Commission des services juridiques' desire to improve the efficiency and working conditions of its employees, a physical consolidation of services was carried out, providing staff with a stimulating work environment.


NEGOTIATION OF THE TARIFF OF FEES OF LAWYERS IN PRIVATE PRACTICE

The tariff of fees of lawyers in private practice expired on September 30, 2017. 

Negotiations began on December 19, 2017 between the negotiators appointed by the Ministère de la Justice and the Barreau du Québec and were still ongoing as of March 31, 2018. 

The Commission des services juridiques is advising the negotiator for the Ministère de la Justice du Québec and, for the first, is present at the negotiating table. 

MODERNIZATION OF THE ACT RESPECTING LEGAL AID AND THE PROVISION OF CERTAIN OTHER LEGAL SERVICES

During fiscal 2016-2017, a joint committee comprised of the Ministère de la Justice and the Commission des services juridiques was established in order to modernize the Act respecting legal aid and the provision of certain other legal services and its regulations, particularly in light of the new Code of Civil Procedure which favours dispute prevention and resolution methods. This committee created an internal subcommittee within the legal aid network which, over the course of the most recently completed fiscal year, proposed to the Ministère de la Justice amendments to the Act and its regulations. Some of these proposed amendments are set out in Bill 168 (An Act to promote access to justice and increase its efficiency), which was introduced in the National Assembly on December 8, 2017.

DEALINGS WITH PARTNERS

Within the context of the election of the new president of the Barreau du Québec, the officers of the Commission des services juridiques invited each of the candidates to a meeting to find out their vision on access to justice.

On January 8, 2018, the Commission des services juridiques became a five-year partner in the research project entitled Accessing law and justice (ADAJ), presented to the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada by Me Pierre Noreau, professor at the Faculty of Law of the Université de Montréal, with themes ranging from self-representation by citizens to mental health and justice.

On January 26, 2018, it entered into a partnership with the Office des personnes handicapées du Québec. The purpose of the partnership is to establish a network through which the partners can exchange information and share expertise so that their mutual clientele can benefit from the services and expertise each of them offer.

Lastly, the Commission is in discussions with the organization Éducaloi with a view to also entering into a partnership to manage and perpetuate the collaborative relationship that naturally unites them through their respective missions and the Act respecting legal aid and the provision of certain other legal services.

Picture of the section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Salle de presse/ Faits saillants

Faits saillants 2017-2018


MISE À NIVEAU DES RESSOURCES HUMAINES – DÉLAIS JUDICIAIRES

En mars 2016, la ministre de la Justice, Me Stéphanie Vallée a réuni au sein de la Table Justice-Québec l’ensemble des partenaires du milieu juridique concernés y compris la Commission des services juridiques afin de travailler à l’élaboration d’une stratégie visant à réduire les délais en matière criminelle. Alors que les travaux étaient avancés, le 8 juillet 2016, la Cour suprême du Canada a rendu un important jugement en matière criminelle (R. c. Jordan, 2016 CSC 27) qui est venu établir des balises afin de préciser ce qui peut être considéré comme un délai raisonnable: dix-huit (18) mois pour les dossiers qui procèdent devant la Cour du Québec et trente (30) mois pour ceux qui relèvent de la Cour supérieure. 

À la fin de l’année 2016, dans la foulée de ce jugement, le gouvernement du Québec a posé un geste concret en réinvestissant de façon significative dans le système de justice, soit plus de 175 millions sur 4 ans, notamment en prévoyant des effectifs au bureau de la Directrice des poursuites criminelles et pénales, à la magistrature et au ministère de la Sécurité publique de même que l’ajout de nouvelles salles d’audience (Stratégie d’action gouvernementale visant à contribuer à la réduction des délais en matière criminelle et pénale). 

C’est dans ce contexte qu’en décembre 2016, la Commission des services juridiques a transmis auprès du ministère de la Justice une « Étude et présentation des besoins en ressources additionnelles » pour le réseau d’aide juridique. Ces derniers avaient comme assises qu’environ 75 % des dossiers en matière criminelle se font sous le couvert du régime d’aide juridique, soit par des avocats permanents, soit par des avocats de la pratique privée et que les délais de traitement des dossiers doivent demeurer raisonnables.

 Ainsi, par une décision du Conseil du trésor rendue le 16 mai 2017, en lien avec la Stratégie d’action gouvernementale, la Commission des services juridiques a été autorisée à procéder à l’embauche de ressources additionnelles, à savoir vingt (20) avocats et vingt-sept (27) employés de bureau. Au 31 mars 2018, tous ces nouveaux effectifs avaient été engagés.


AFFLUX DES DEMANDEURS D’ASILE

Depuis juillet 2017, une hausse importante du nombre de demandeurs d’asile en provenance des États-Unis est constatée au Québec.

Au plus fort de cet épisode, jusqu’à 500 personnes par jour demandaient l’asile au Canada. En temps normal, le Centre communautaire juridique de Montréal (CCJM) traite environ 6 000 demandes d’asile par année. Or en 2017-2018, il a traité 12 000 demandes d’asile. Habituellement, 35 rendez-vous sont donnés par jour. Depuis août 2017, le nombre de rendez-vous par jour a été progressivement augmenté à 90 rendez-vous. À ce nombre s’ajoutent les clients sans rendez-vous qui conformément à l’article 38 du règlement doivent faire réviser leur admissibilité à l’aide juridique avant leur audition au fond.

Dans ce contexte, des effectifs temporaires additionnels furent ajoutés en août 2017 soit deux avocats et trois employés de soutien et en janvier 2018 soit deux avocats et trois employés de soutien.

Il est à noter que toutes les ressources supplémentaires n’ont pu être embauchées en temps opportun en raison d’espaces locatifs insuffisants. Une intervention récente auprès de la Société québécoise des infrastructures permettra au CCJM d’avoir finalement accès à des locaux temporaires.

Pour que les délais de rendez-vous n’excèdent 8 à 10 semaines, le CCJM a dès juillet 2017 ouvert ses bureaux un samedi sur deux et demandé à des employés de travailler 2 soirs par semaine et a dû recourir à une agence de gardiennage (sécurité) pour gérer la clientèle qui s’agglutinait dans les corridors de l’immeuble au détriment des autres locataires.

Jusqu’à l’été 2017, les clients pour une demande d’asile pouvaient obtenir un rendez-vous dans un délai de 2 semaines, les délais sont présentement de 6 à 8 semaines. Les espaces locatifs additionnels permettront d’embaucher le personnel supplémentaire autorisé et devraient maintenir les délais de rendez-vous à 6 semaines.

Une demande de modification de l’article 38 du Règlement sur l’aide juridique (RLRQ, c. A-14, r.2), appuyée par le Ministère de la Justice du Québec, était au 31 mars 2018 en processus d’évaluation par le gouvernement. Si la modification est adoptée, cela éliminera l’obligation de procéder de nouveau à l’examen de l’admissibilité financière du bénéficiaire dans les 15 jours de la réception par ce dernier d’un avis de convocation à l’audience devant la Section de la protection des réfugiés de la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada. 


INDEXATION DES SEUILS D’ADMISSIBILITÉ ET BILAN DES HAUSSES SUCCESSIVES

Le 31 mai 2017, les seuils d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique gratuite ont été haussés de 4,7 % par le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur l’aide juridique (Décret 1280-2013, (2013) 145 G.O. II 5539 modifié par le décret 385-2015, (2015) 147 G.O. II 1333). Ce pourcentage correspond à celui de la hausse du salaire minimum du 1er mai 2017. Rappelons que le 1er janvier 2016, les seuils de l’admissibilité à l’aide juridique avaient été haussés, avec comme référence le salaire minimum. 

Ainsi, une personne seule complétant une semaine de travail de 35 heures au salaire minimum, soit 20 475 $ par année, est admise gratuitement à l’aide juridique. De plus, les services seront gratuits pour une famille formée de deux adultes et de deux enfants dont les revenus sont inférieurs à 33 575 $.

Le régime québécois d’aide juridique comporte également un volet pour les personnes dont les revenus se situent entre les seuils de l’admissibilité gratuite et les seuils maximums avec contribution (volet contributif). Ce volet offre une formule unique qui permet à un justiciable d’être représenté par un avocat devant les tribunaux en connaissant, à l’avance, le coût maximum des honoraires et des frais qui pourraient lui être réclamés. Ce volet permet à une personne de recevoir des services juridiques si ses revenus, biens et liquidités correspondent au barème d’admissibilité en vigueur et si elle verse une contribution financière variant entre 100 $ et 800 $, selon sa composition familiale et sa situation financière. Le barème d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique sous le volet contributif a été également haussé de 4,7 %.

En somme, la bonification des critères de l’admissibilité financière à l’aide juridique touche celles et ceux qui travaillent et dont les revenus sont modestes, ainsi que les aînés qui ont comme source principale de revenus les prestations de la Sécurité de la vieillesse et le Supplément de revenu garanti.

Voici l’évolution depuis le début de l’augmentation de la hausse des seuils en 2005 :

  • Évolution volet gratuit. En 12 ans, pour une personne seule, le barème est passé de 8 870 $ à 20 475 $, soit une augmentation de 130,8%.
  • Évolution du maximum du volet contributif. En 12 ans, pour une personne seule, le barème maximum est passé de 12 640 $ à 28 599 $, soit une augmentation de 126,2%.
En outre, la Commission des services juridiques a développé des outils lui permettant d’évaluer le nombre de requérants qui, n’eût été la hausse des seuils d’admissibilité financière à l’aide juridique depuis le 1er janvier 2014, n’auraient pas été admissibles à l’aide juridique. Pour l’exercice 2017-2018, ce nombre s’élève à 18 838.

CONDITIONS ET RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL
Au cours de l’année financière 2017-2018, la Commission des services juridiques et le syndicat de ses employés de bureau ont paraphé une nouvelle convention collective qui sera en vigueur jusqu’au 31 mars 2020. Il en va de même pour l’ensemble des centres régionaux qui composent le réseau de l’aide juridique.Afin de favoriser la conciliation travail-vie personnelle, un projet pilote d’horaire variable a été mis en place à la Commission des services juridiques ainsi que dans les centres régionaux de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue, Bas St-Laurent-Gaspésie, l’Estrie, Mauricie-Bois-Francs, l’Outaouais et Rive-Sud.

Ces conventions collectives accordent aux employés du réseau des conditions de travail comparables à celles accordées aux employés du secteur public. Nous espérons qu’elles permettront également aux employeurs du réseau de l’aide juridique d’être compétitifs sur le marché de l’emploi.

Les conventions collectives des avocats étant échues depuis le 31 mars 2015, le comité de négociation patronal représentant les douze employeurs du réseau a participé à des rencontres de négociation avec les représentants syndicaux des avocats. Une entente de principe est intervenue sur toutes les matières touchant les aspects normatifs, les clauses à incidence monétaire demeurant en négociation. 

Les avocats du réseau de l’aide juridique revendiquent le maintien de la parité de rémunération globale avec les avocats à l’emploi du Directeur des poursuites criminelles et pénales, sans toutefois demander le même mode de négociation.

Encore une fois cette année, le comité cohérence issu de la Table des directeurs généraux s’est réuni afin de proposer une uniformisation des façons de faire, notamment en ce qui a trait à la procédure appliquée lors de l’embauche.

En outre, nous sommes à procéder à un exercice de relativité salariale. Les travaux ont débuté afin d’assurer l’équité interne entre les différentes catégories d’emplois pour l’ensemble des salariés du réseau.

Finalement, dans le contexte de l’amélioration de l’efficience et des conditions de travail des employés de la Commission des services juridiques, un regroupement physique des services fut effectué permettant à l’ensemble du personnel d’avoir un environnement de travail stimulant.


NÉGOCIATION DES TARIFS DES HONORAIRES DES AVOCATS DE LA PRATIQUE PRIVÉE
Les tarifs des honoraires des avocats de la pratique privée sont venus à échéance le 30 septembre 2017. 

Des négociations ont débuté le 19 décembre 2017 entre les négociateurs désignés par le ministère de la Justice et le Barreau du Québec et étaient toujours en cours au 31 mars 2018. 

La Commission des services juridiques agit à titre de conseillère auprès du négociateur du ministère de la Justice du Québec et pour la première fois est présente à la table de négociation.

MODERNISATION DE LA LOI SUR L’AIDE JURIDIQUE ET SUR LA PRESTATION DE CERTAINS AUTRES SERVICES JURIDIQUES

Au cours de l’exercice financier 2016-2017, un comité mixte du ministère de la Justice et de la Commission des services juridiques a été mis sur pied afin de procéder à la modernisation de la Loi sur l’aide juridique et sur la prestation de certains autres services juridiques et de ses règlements, et ce, compte tenu, notamment du nouveau Code de procédure civile qui favorise des modes de prévention et de règlement des différends. De ce comité est né un sous-comité interne du réseau de l’aide juridique qui au cours du dernier exercice financier a proposé au Ministère de la Justice des modifications à la Loi et aux règlements. Certaines de ces propositions se retrouvent d’ailleurs dans le projet de loi 168 (Loi visant à favoriser l’accès à la justice et à en accroître l’efficacité) présenté à l’Assemblée nationale le 8 décembre 2017.

RELATIONS AVEC LES PARTENAIRES
Dans le contexte de l’élection du nouveau bâtonnier, les officiers de la Commission des services juridiques ont invité chacun des candidats à une rencontre afin qu’ils exposent leur vision sur l’accès à la justice.

Le 8 janvier 2018, la Commission des services juridiques est devenue un partenaire pour les cinq prochaines années du projet de recherche intitulé l’Accès au droit et à la justice (ADAJ), présenté au Conseil de recherche en sciences humaines du Canada par le professeur Me Pierre Noreau de la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Montréal et plus particulièrement pour les thèmes allant de l'autoreprésentation et le plaideur citoyen à la santé mentale et justice.

Le 26 janvier 2018, elle a conclu une entente de partenariat avec l’Office des personnes handicapées du Québec. L’objectif de ce partenariat est de mettre en place un réseau d’échange d’informations et de partage d’expertise entre les deux partenaires afin que leur clientèle commune puisse bénéficier des services et de l’expertise de chacun.

Finalement, la Commission est en discussion avec l’organisme Éducaloi afin de conclure également uneentente de partenariat pour encadrer et pérenniser la relation de collaboration qui les unit naturellement de par leur mission respective et la Loi sur l’aide juridique et sur la prestation de certains autres services juridiques.

Photo de la section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017