| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
News room/ Highlights

Highlights 2018-2019


WORKING CONDITIONS AND LABOUR RELATIONS

During fiscal 2018-2019, the Commission des services juridiques and the union representing its lawyers signed a new collective agreement which will be in effect until December 31, 2019. The same is true for all the regional centres comprising the legal aid network.

Moreover, once again this year, the Comité sur la cohérence (consistency committee) created by the Table des directeurs généraux (roundtable of directors general) gathered to pursue uniform methods, particularly as regards the hiring process.

Work on salary relativity continued during the past year, for the purpose of ensuring internal equity between the various employment classes for all of the network’s employees.

NEGOTIATION OF THE TARIFF OF FEES OF LAWYERS IN PRIVATE PRACTICE

The tariff of fees of lawyers in private practice expired on September 30, 2017. 

Negotiations began on December 19, 2017 between the negotiators appointed by the Ministère de la Justice and the Barreau du Québec and were still ongoing as of March 31, 2019. 

The Commission des services juridiques is advising the negotiator for the Ministère de la Justice du Québec and, for the first time, is present at the negotiating table. 


INDEXATION OF THE ELIGIBILITY THRESHOLDS AND SUMMARY OF THE SUCCESSIVE INCREASES

On May 31, 2018, pursuant to the Regulation to amend the Regulation respecting legal aid (O.C. 1280-2013, (2013) 145 G.O. II 5539, as amended by O.C. 385-2015, (2015) 147 G.O. II 1333), the eligibility thresholds for free legal aid were increased by 6.67%. This percentage is equal to the increase in the minimum wage on May 1, 2018. On January 1, 2016, the legal aid eligibility thresholds had been increased, with the minimum wage as a reference point. 

Thus a person who is single and works a 35-hour week at minimum wage, namely, $21,840 per year, will be eligible for legal aid at no cost. Moreover, legal aid services are free to a family of two adults and two children whose income is less than $35,814.

The Québec legal aid plan also includes a component for individuals whose income falls between the eligibility thresholds for free legal aid and the maximum thresholds requiring a contribution (contributory legal aid). The contributory scheme offers a unique formula that allows individuals to be represented in court by a lawyer while knowing, in advance, the maximum amount of their legal fees and the costs that may be claimed from them. The contributory scheme allows an individual to receive legal services if his or her income, assets and liquidities match the eligibility scale in effect and if the individual pays a contribution ranging from $100 to $800, depending on the composition of the person’s family and the person’s financial situation. The eligibility scale for legal aid under the contributory scheme was also increased by 6.67%.

In summary, the enhanced financial eligibility criteria for legal aid affect working people with modest incomes as well as seniors whose principal source of income is their Old Age Security benefits and the Guaranteed Income Supplement.


The following tables show the changes in the eligibility thresholds since the increases began in 2005:

  • In 13 years, for a single person, the scale for free legal aid changed from $8,870 to $21,840, an increase of 146.2%.
  • In 13 years, for a single person, the scale for contributory legal aid changed from $12,640 to $30,506, an increase of 141.3%.

The Commission des services juridiques developed tools to evaluate the number of cases of applicants who, were it not for the increase in the financial eligibility thresholds for legal aid since January 1, 2014, would not have qualified for legal aid. For the 2018-2019 year, this number amounted to 22,390.


DIGITAL TRANSFORMATION

In April 2018, the Government of Québec announced its plan to modernize the justice system, with investments totalling $500 million over 5 years. The primary objectives are to make justice more accessible to the public, reduce waiting times and increase the efficiency of Québec’s justice system. This modernization requires a digital transformation of practices and processes. Thus, the entire judicial process, from the submission of files and exhibits to the presentation of hearings and the drafting and distribution of decisions will be electronic.

Concurrently, the directors general of the legal aid network, backed by the Commission des services juridiques, created a digital transformation committee. A transformation will be required in order to receive, process, analyze, produce and present files electronically and in keeping with the project of the Ministère de la Justice. The digital transformation of the legal aid network will require a technological component, the optimization of existing processes to allow for a transition from a predominantly paper-based system to an electronic one, as well as a plan to manage the changes and provide training. To start off the process, the legal aid network is being assisted by the firm of Klynveld, Peat, Marwick et Goerdeler (KPMG).


DEALINGS WITH PARTNERS

On January 24, 2019, the Commission des services juridiques and Éducaloi entered into a partnership to manage and perpetuate the collaborative relationship that naturally unites them through their respective missions and the Act respecting legal aid and the provision of certain other legal services.

The agreement marks an organizational turning point for both entities, because the Commission des services juridiques will be providing a significant contribution to Éducaloi to ensure the development and distribution of informational content on its website targeted more specifically to the concerns of legal aid recipients. For its part, the partnership will allow the Commission to achieve its objective of promoting the development of programs aimed at informing those who qualify for legal aid about their rights and obligations.


INCREASE OF ELIGIBILITY THRESHOLDS FOR THE ÎLES-DE-LA-MADELEINE

Those living in the Îles-de-la-Madeleine now benefit from a 20% increase in the financial eligibility thresholds for legal aid services.
 
Indeed, the Regulation respecting legal aid was amended to add the Îles-de-la-Madeleine to the list of remote areas, thereby recognizing its insular nature and structural constraints.








Picture of the section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Salle de presse/ Faits saillants

Faits saillants 2018-2019


CONDITIONS ET RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL

Au cours de l’année financière 2018-2019, la Commission des services juridiques et les syndicat des avocats ont paraphé une nouvelle convention collective qui sera en vigueur jusqu’au 31 décembre 2019. Il en va de même pour l’ensemble des centres régionaux qui composent le réseau de l’aide juridique. 

Par ailleurs, encore une fois cette année, le Comité sur la cohérence issu de la Table des directeurs généraux s’est réuni afin de poursuivre l’uniformisation des façons de faire, notamment en ce qui a trait à la procédure appliquée lors de l’embauche.

Les travaux de l’exercice de la relativité salariale se sont poursuivis au cours de la dernière année dont le but est de s’assurer de l’équité interne entre les différentes catégories d’emplois pour l’ensemble des salariés du réseau.


NÉGOCIATION DES TARIFS DES HONORAIRES DES AVOCATS DE LA PRATIQUE PRIVÉE

Les tarifs des honoraires des avocats de la pratique privée sont venus à échéance le 30 septembre 2017. 
Des négociations ont débuté le 19 décembre 2017 entre les négociateurs désignés par le ministère de la Justice et le Barreau du Québec et étaient toujours en cours au 31 mars 2019. 
La Commission des services juridiques agit à titre de conseillère auprès du négociateur du ministère de la Justice du Québec et pour la première fois est présente à la table de négociation. 

INDEXATION DES SEUILS D’ADMISSIBILITÉ ET BILAN DES HAUSSES SUCCESSIVES
Le 31 mai 2018, les seuils d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique gratuite ont été haussés de 6,67 % par le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur l’aide juridique (Décret 1280-2013, (2013) 145 G.O. II 5539 modifié par le décret 385-2015, (2015) 147 G.O. II 1333). Ce pourcentage correspond à celui de la hausse du salaire minimum du 1er mai 2018. Rappelons que le 1er janvier 2016, les seuils de l’admissibilité à l’aide juridique avaient été haussés, avec comme référence le salaire minimum. 
Ainsi, une personne seule complétant une semaine de travail de 35 heures au salaire minimum, soit 21 840 $ par année, est admise gratuitement à l’aide juridique. De plus, les services seront gratuits pour une famille formée de deux adultes et de deux enfants dont les revenus sont inférieurs à 35 814 $.
Le régime québécois d’aide juridique comporte également un volet pour les personnes dont les revenus se situent entre les seuils de l’admissibilité gratuite et les seuils maximums avec contribution (volet contributif). Ce volet offre une formule unique qui permet à un justiciable d’être représenté par un avocat devant les tribunaux en connaissant, à l’avance, le coût maximum des honoraires et des frais qui pourraient lui être réclamés. Ce volet permet à une personne de recevoir des services juridiques si ses revenus, biens et liquidités correspondent au barème d’admissibilité en vigueur et si elle verse une contribution financière variant entre 100 $ et 800 $, selon sa composition familiale et sa situation financière.  Le barème d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique sous le volet contributif a été également haussé de 6,67 %.
En somme, la bonification des critères de l’admissibilité financière à l’aide juridique touche celles et ceux qui travaillent et dont les revenus sont modestes, ainsi que les aînés qui ont comme source principale de revenus les prestations de la Sécurité de la vieillesse et le Supplément de revenu garanti.

Voici des tableaux qui présentent l’évolution depuis le début de l’augmentation de la hausse des seuils en 2005 :

  • En 13 ans, pour une personne seule, le barème pour être admissible gratuitement est passé de 8 870 $ à 21 840 $, soit une augmentation de 146,2 %.
  •  En 13 ans, pour une personne seule, le barème pour être admissible moyennant le versement d’une contribution est passé de 12 640 $ à 30 506 $, soit une augmentation de 141,3 %.

La Commission des services juridiques a développé des outils lui permettant d’évaluer le nombre de dossiers de requérants qui, n’eût été la hausse des seuils d’admissibilité financière à l’aide juridique depuis le 1er janvier 2014, n’auraient pas été admissibles à l’aide juridique. Pour l’exercice 2018-2019, ce nombre s’élève à 22 390.

TRANSFORMATION NUMÉRIQUE

En avril 2018, le gouvernement du Québec a annoncé son Plan de modernisation de la justice avec des investissements totaux de 500 M$ sur 5 ans. Les objectifs principaux visent à rendre la justice plus accessible pour les citoyens, à réduire les délais et améliorer l’efficience du système de justice québécois. Cette modernisation passe notamment par une transformation numérique des pratiques et des processus. Ainsi l’ensemble du processus judiciaire, de la soumission du dossier et des pièces à la présentation des audiences et la rédaction et la diffusion des décisions pourront être faits de façon électronique.
De façon concomitante, les directeurs généraux du réseau d’aide juridique appuyés par la Commission des services juridiques ont créé un comité sur la transformation numérique. Une transformation qui s’impose afin de recevoir, traiter, analyser, produire et présenter des dossiers de façon électronique et qui devra s’arrimer avec le projet du ministère de la Justice. La transformation numérique du réseau de l’aide juridique devra inclure un aspect technologique, une optimisation des processus actuels pour permettre un passage d’un mode plutôt papier à un mode plutôt électronique mais aussi un plan de gestion du changement et de formation. Pour le démarrage du processus, le réseau de l’aide juridique est accompagné par la firme Klynveld, Peat, Marwick et Goerdeler (KPMG).

RELATIONS AVEC LES PARTENAIRES

Le 24 janvier 2019, la Commission des services juridiques est devenue un partenaire d’Éducaloi pour encadrer et pérenniser la relation de collaboration qui les unit naturellement de par leur mission respective et la Loi sur l’aide juridique et sur la prestation de certains autres services juridiques.

L’entente intervenue marque l’histoire organisationnelle des deux entités puisque la Commission des services juridiques octroie une contribution significative à Éducaloi pour assurer le développement et la diffusion de contenus d’information sur son site Web, qui répondront plus spécifiquement aux préoccupations des bénéficiaires de l’aide juridique. De son côté, la Commission atteint son objectif de promouvoir le développement de programmes d’information destinés à renseigner les personnes financièrement admissibles à l’aide juridique sur leurs droits et leurs obligations.

MAJORATION DES SEUILS D’ADMISSIBILITÉ POUR LES ÎLES-DE-LA-MADELEINE

La population des Îles-de-la-Madeleine peut désormais bénéficier d’une majoration de 20 % des seuils d’admissibilité financière aux services d’aide juridique. 

En effet, le Règlement sur l’aide juridique a été modifié pour ajouter les Îles-de-la-Madeleine à la liste des régions éloignées, reconnaissant ainsi son caractère insulaire et ses contraintes structurelles.











Photo de la section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017