| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
Click to search
News room/ 2020-2021

Highlights 2020-2021


DIGITAL TRANSFORMATION

The vision for modernizing the legal aid network is to provide citizens with quality, accessible and simplified services, supported by state-of-the-art digital solutions, innovative ways of doing things, employee engagement and the strength of the legal aid network. Modernizing the network will therefore make it possible not only to improve the quality and efficiency of services through new technologies and thereby enhance the experience of the various stakeholders, but also to free up capacity to better serve our clientele or consider new programs.

The past year saw the hiring of a director for the legal aid network’s digital transformation program.

Some foundational and developmental projects have begun and will run from 2021 to 2023.

It should be noted that, although the eMAJ program is not included in the plan for modernizing the justice system, its alignment with the various measures in the plan remains essential.


LEGISLATIVE AND REGULATORY AMENDMENTS

Bill 32 was passed by the National Assembly and became effective on June 5, 2020.

This bill amended the Act respecting legal aid and the provision of certain other legal servicesto include alternative dispute resolution services and services for avoiding court proceedings.

Services rendered before court proceedings are instituted will now be covered, including participation in private dispute prevention and resolution processes aimed at avoiding court proceedings and services for matters brought or to be brought before a court. 

Section 43.1 of the Regulation respecting legal aid (c. A-14, r. 2) was amended in order to add a new service, namely, the assistance of a lawyer when a person participates in a program for the non-judicial treatment of certain criminal offences.

Within the scope of the services mentioned in section 4.7 of the Act, except those in family cases, the introduction of a new section 43.2 in the Regulation respecting legal aid provides for coverage of services for participation in a collaborative law process or a mediation process. In the latter case, only services rendered by a lawyer or notary assisting the recipient are covered.

Existing section 4.10 of the Act, which grants legal aid for drawing up a document, was amended to remove the requirement that the consequences be “harmful”. Thus, from now on, a person who requires this service need only mention consequences for the person’s physical or psychological well-being or that of the person’s family.

Finally, the way in which the Review Committee operates has been modified.

Thus, applications for review no longer have to be sent by registered mail and those pertaining to a notice of refusal under section 70(a) (refusal to supply the information or documents required for the examination of the application) will now be heard by a single decision-maker instead of three.

Moreover the Regulation respecting the application of the Act to promote access to justice through the establishment of the Service administratif de rajustement des pensions alimentaires pour enfants was amended in order to expand and improve access to this service. Since these amendments came into force on July 3, 2020, the fees payable for the service were reduced to $50 and certain eligibility criteria were revised. The service is available to all parents, for a minimal fee ($50), within a short time frame and without having to go before the courts, thereby facilitating access to justice in family matters.



NEW TARIFFS OF FEES OF LAWYERS IN PRIVATE PRACTICE AND WORK OF THE INDEPENDENT WORKING GROUP (IWG)

After three years of negotiations between the Ministère de la Justice and the Barreau du Québec, two new agreements on the tariffs of fees of lawyers in private practice were entered into at the end of 2020.

As a result, the new tariffs came into effect on December 9, 2020, increasing the fees of lawyers in private practice in all areas of the law by 14.7%, for an estimated total of nearly $35 million over five years.

The Commission des services juridiques acted as an advisor to the negotiator for the Ministère de la Justice du Québec. 

The agreements (one in criminal and penal matters and the other in matters other than criminal and penal) also provide for a retroactive bonus of 5% for legal aid mandates entrusted between October 1, 2017 and May 31, 2019. As for the new tariffs, they have been in effect for mandates entrusted since June 1, 2019. The Commission des services juridiques paid the retroactive amounts in January 2021 to the lawyers entitled thereto.

In addition, they provide for the establishment of an independent working group to make recommendations on the reform of the legal aid tariff structure. The group is chaired by Élizabeth Corte, former Chief Justice of the Court of Québec.



TABLE JUSTICE-QUÉBEC

The partners of the Table Justice-Québec, of which the Commission des services juridiques is a member, mobilized to propose and implement concrete actions to deal with the effects of the pandemic.

The partners of the Table Justice-Québec worked together to identify innovative actions that would contribute to the efficient resumption of judicial activities in all areas and counter the increase in judicial delays, all for the benefit of citizens. The work carried out first took concrete form with the tabling of Bill 75, An Act to improve justice accessibility and efficiency, in particular to address consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic, which includes a number of measures stemming from proposals made by the Table Justice-Québec.

In addition, the measures adopted by the Table Justice-Québec are included in the Plan d’action 2020-2021 : une justice de qualité, accessible et au service des citoyens [2020-2021 action plan: high quality and accessible justice at the service of citizens] and result from the work of three subcommittees (with the participation of members of several regional legal aid centres and the Commission), which proposed some 40 measures in civil, criminal, penal, family and youth matters. These measures fall under five main objectives:

  1. Adopt the measures necessary for the proper administration of justice due to the declared state of emergency;
  2.  Adopt efficiency measures to reduce delays and costs to citizens;
  3. Simplify the process for citizens;
  4. In criminal and penal matters, adapt the response of the judicial system; and
  5. Facilitate dispute resolution for better access to justice.


INDEXATION OF THE ELIGIBILITY THRESHOLDS AND SUMMARY OF THE SUCCESSIVE INCREASES

On May 31, 2020, the eligibility thresholds for free legal aid were increased by 4.8%. This percentage is equal to the increase in the minimum wage on May 1, 2020. On January 1, 2016, the legal aid eligibility thresholds had been increased, with the minimum wage as a reference point. 


Thus a person who is single and works a 35-hour week at minimum wage, namely, $23,842 per year, is eligible for legal aid at no cost. Moreover, legal aid services are free to a family of two adults and two children whose income is less than $39,097.


The Québec legal aid plan also includes a component for individuals whose income falls between the eligibility thresholds for free legal aid and the maximum thresholds requiring a contribution (contributory legal aid). The contributory scheme offers a unique formula that allows individuals to be represented in court by a lawyer while knowing, in advance, the maximum amount of their legal fees and the costs that may be claimed from them. The contributory scheme allows an individual to receive legal services if his or her income, assets and liquidities match the eligibility scale in effect and if the individual pays a contribution ranging from $100 to $800, depending on the composition of the person’s family and the person’s financial situation. The eligibility scale for legal aid under the contributory scheme was also increased by 4.8%.


In summary, the enhanced financial eligibility criteria for legal aid benefit working people with modest incomes as well as seniors whose principal source of income is their Old Age Security benefits and the Guaranteed Income Supplement.

  • In 15 years, for a person who is single, the scale changed from $8,870 to $23,842, an increase of 168.9%.
  • In 15 years, for a person who is single, the maximum scale changed from $12,640 to $33,304, an increase of 163.5 %.

The Commission des services juridiques developed tools to evaluate the number of cases which, were it not for the increase in the financial eligibility thresholds for legal aid since January 1, 2014, would not have qualified for legal aid. For the 2020-2021 year, this number amounted to 19,704.



CONSULTATIONS


A legal aid network working group, consisting of 12 legal aid staff lawyers specializing in the representation of children in youth protection matters, was established. Two members of this group testified before the Commission spéciale sur les droits des enfants et la protection de la jeunesse (special commission on children’s rights and youth protection), chaired by Régine Laurent, a brief having been previously submitted by the legal aid network. More than 12,000 children are represented each year by legal aid staff lawyers, both in adoption and protection matters.


Another legal aid network working group, consisting of 12 legal aid staff lawyers specializing in administrative and social law, prepared a brief within the scope of the special consultations and public hearings on Bill 84 (An Act to assist persons who are victims of criminal offences and to facilitate their recovery).


Both briefs are available on the Commission’s website under the tab Legal information/Publications or by clicking on the following links:



WORKING CONDITIONS AND LABOUR RELATIONS

Given that the collective agreements for lawyers and office employees expired on December 31, 2019 and March 31, 2020, respectively, a single management negotiating committee was established for all of the negotiating tables. Its purpose is to ensure uniformity and consistency in the working conditions offered to all of the unionized professionals and employees in the legal aid network, taking regional considerations into account. Negotiations began on March 12, 2020 and, as of March 31, 2021, no less than 46 meetings had been held at the seven separate negotiating tables. Much progress has been made on the non-monetary aspects, and at the negotiating tables for office employees, negotiations on the financial elements have even begun.

Moreover, work on salary relativity was finalized during the past year, thereby ensuring internal equity between the various employment classes for all of the network’s employees, with effect as at April 2, 2019.


DEALINGS WITH PARTNERS AND INVOLVEMENT IN JUSTICE COMMITTEES

On March 14, 2020, the Commission des services juridiques was approached by the Minister of Justice and the Bâtonnier du Québec to set up, in collaboration with the Centre d’accès à l’information juridique (CAIJ), a COVID-19 legal clinic aimed at informing all Quebeckers about their rights in relation to the pandemic. 


From March 20 to May 29, 2020, the clinic received nearly 17,000 calls, including over 15,000 for legal consultations in all areas of law. More than 160 lawyers were involved, including 135 legal aid staff lawyers.


Together with the Court of Québec, the Ministère de la Justice, the Director of Criminal and Penal Prosecutions and the Ministère de la Sécurité publique, the Commission participated in the implementation of a pilot project for appearances and bail hearings by videoconference for persons arrested and detained on weekends and statutory holidays. The pilot project began on April 28, 2020 in Montreal and Québec City and has now been extended to all judicial districts in Québec. 


More generally, beginning on April 7, 2020, the Commission, along with partners from the legal community, participated in the Comité sur la tenue des audiences virtuelles et semi-virtuelles, a committee on virtual and semi-virtual hearings aimed at developing such hearings. A Montreal operational committee in which the Commission also participates is more focused on hearings in health care institutions, particularly in the area of mental health.


In addition, in early April 2020, at the request of the Ministère de la Justice, the Commission participated in a committee tasked with suggesting post-COVID-19 amendments to the Criminal Code.


In early May 2020, in order to share issues common to our respective organizations, the Commission collaborated on a weekly basis with senior officials at the Director of Criminal and Penal Prosecutions. On certain occasions, when the topics were appropriate, defence lawyers’ associations were invited to join the meetings to share their findings and transmit them to both the judiciary and the Ministère de la Justice.

The service agreement with Éducaloi was renewed for two years.

The Commission des services juridiques actively participated with partners in the following committees:

  • Association of Legal Aid Plans of Canada;
  •  Comité de parties prenantes du Bureau de la transformation organisationnelle (stakeholders’ committee of the organizational transformation office), including the Comité d’arrimage tactique et opérationnel (tactical and operational alignment committee) and a sub-committee;
  •  Comité Justice dans le Nord (Northern justice committee);
  • Steering committee and coordinating committee of the Programme d’accompagnement Justice et Santé mentale (PAJ-SM) (justice and mental health support program);
  •  Forum québécois sur l’accès à la justice civile et familiale (Québec forum on access to justice in civil and family law);
  •  Forum sociojudiciaire autochtone (Aboriginal socio-judicial forum);
  • Federal-Provincial-Territorial Permanent Working Group on Legal Aid (PWG);
  • Independent working group on legal aid tariffs (observer);
  • Groupe de travail sur la mise en place d’un tribunal spécialisé en matière de violences sexuelles et de violence conjugale (working group on the establishment of a specialized sexual assault and domestic violence tribunal);
  • Table Justice-Québec and sub-committees;
  • La Grande assemblée de l’Institut québécois de réforme du droit et de la justice (grand assembly of the Québec institute for law and justice reform).


THE CORONAVIRUS PANDEMIC

The most recently completed fiscal year was marked by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Commission des services juridiques took appropriate measures to protect the health and safety of its staff. It focused on teleworking as the optimal form of work organization to mitigate the impact of the pandemic, while allowing professional activities to continue. It ensured that the necessary security measures to protect its data were built into its computer systems.

The Commission continually updated its procedures to comply with the directives of the public health authorities, the CNESST and other government authorities.

During this period, the Commission des services juridiques also introduced temporary flexibility measures for the processing of legal aid applications and the payment of invoices for legal aid mandates accepted by lawyers in private practice; these measures will continue as long as the health emergency measures are renewed by the government.

Picture of the section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Cliquer pour rechercher.
Salle de presse/ 2020-2021

Faits saillants 2020-2021


TRANSFORMATION NUMÉRIQUE

La vision de la modernisation du réseau de l’aide juridique est d’offrir aux citoyens des services de qualité, accessibles et simplifiés, appuyés sur des solutions numériques de pointe, des façons de faire innovantes, l’engagement des employés et la force du réseau d’aide juridique. La modernisation du réseau permettra donc de gagner en qualité et en efficience avec les nouvelles technologies pour améliorer l’expérience des différentes parties prenantes, mais également de dégager de la capacité pour mieux servir la clientèle ou envisager de nouveaux programmes.

Au cours de la dernière année, le directeur du programme de transformation numérique du réseau de l’aide juridique a été embauché.

Certains projets de fondation et de développement ont débuté et s’échelonneront de 2021 à 2023.

Notons que, bien que le programme eMAJ ne soit pas prévu au Plan pour moderniser le système de justice, son arrimage avec les différentes mesures de ce Plan demeure primordial.


MODIFICATIONS LÉGISLATIVES ET RÈGLEMENTAIRES

Le projet de loi 32 a été adopté par l’Assemblée nationale et il est entré en vigueur le 5 juin 2020.

Ce projet de loi a modifié la Loi sur l’aide juridique et sur la prestation de certains autres services juridiques afin d’inclure dans le panier de services les modes alternatifs de règlement de conflit et les processus de déjudiciarisation.

Dorénavant seront couverts les services rendus avant la judiciarisation, notamment dans le cadre de la participation à des modes privés de prévention et de règlement des différends visant à éviter la judiciarisation, ainsi que pour les affaires dont un tribunal est ou sera saisi. 

L’article 43.1 du Règlement sur l’aide juridique (chapitre A-14, r. 2) a été modifié afin d’y ajouter un nouveau service, soit l’assistance d’un avocat dans le cadre de la participation d’une personne à un programme de traitement non judiciaire de certaines infractions criminelles.

Dans le cadre des services visés à l’article 4.7 de la Loi, sauf ceux en matière familiale, l’introduction du nouvel article 43.2 au Règlement sur l’aide juridique permet la couverture de service pour la participation à un processus de droit collaboratif ou pour la participation à un processus de médiation. Dans ce dernier cas, seuls les services rendus par un avocat ou notaire qui assiste le bénéficiaire sont visés.

L’actuel article 4.10 de la Loi accordant l’aide juridique pour la rédaction d’un document est modifié afin de supprimer le critère de conséquence « néfaste ». Désormais, la personne qui requiert le service ne doit faire état que des conséquences pour son bien-être physique ou psychologique ou celui de sa famille.

Enfin, le fonctionnement du Comité de révision a fait l’objet de certaines modifications.

Ainsi, les demandes de révision n’ont plus à être envoyées par courrier recommandé et celles concernant les avis de refus en vertu de l’article 70 a) (refus de fournir les renseignements ou documents requis pour l’étude de la demande) seront maintenant entendues par un seul décideur au lieu de trois.

Par ailleurs, des modifications au règlement d’application de la Loi favorisant l’accès à la justice en instituant le Service administratif de rajustement des pensions alimentaires pour enfants ont été apportées afin d’élargir et améliorer l’accessibilité à ce service. Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de ces modifications le 3 juillet 2020, les frais exigibles ont été réduits à 50 $ et certains critères d’admissibilité ont été revus. Le service est disponible à tous les parents, et ce, à faible coût (50 $), dans un court délai et sans présence devant le tribunal, favorisant ainsi l’accessibilité à la justice en matière familiale.


NOUVEAUX TARIFS DES HONORAIRES DES AVOCATS DE LA PRATIQUE PRIVÉE ET TRAVAUX DU GROUPE DE TRAVAIL INDÉPENDANT (GTI)

Après trois ans de négociations entre le ministère de la Justice et le Barreau du Québec, deux nouvelles ententes sur les tarifs des honoraires des avocats de la pratique privée ont été conclues à la fin de l’année 2020.

Ainsi, le 9 décembre 2020, les nouveaux tarifs entraient en vigueur entraînant une bonification des honoraires des avocats de la pratique privée dans tous les domaines du droit de 14,7 %, pour un total estimé à près de 35 millions de dollars sur cinq ans.

Rappelons que la Commission des services juridiques agissait à titre de conseillère auprès du négociateur du ministère de la Justice du Québec. 

Les ententes (une en matière criminelle et pénale et l’autre en matière autre que criminelle et pénale) prévoient également une bonification rétroactive de 5 % pour les mandats d’aide juridique confiés entre le 1er octobre 2017 et le 31 mai 2019. Quant aux nouveaux tarifs, ils sont appliqués aux mandats confiés depuis le 1er juin 2019. La Commission des services juridiques a versé la rétroaction aux avocats concernés dès janvier 2021.

En outre, il y est prévu la création d’un groupe de travail indépendant qui devra formuler des recommandations quant à la réforme de la structure tarifaire de l’aide juridique. La présidence de ce groupe est assurée par Mme Élizabeth Corte, ancienne juge en chef de la Cour du Québec.


TABLE JUSTICE-QUÉBEC

Les partenaires de la Table Justice-Québec dont fait partie la Commission des services juridiques se sont mobilisés afin de proposer et mettre en œuvre des actions concrètes permettant de faire face aux effets de la pandémie.

Ainsi, les partenaires de la Table Justice-Québec ont collaboré afin d’identifier des actions innovantes contribuant à une reprise efficace des activités judiciaires dans toutes les matières et à contrer l’augmentation des délais judiciaires, et ce, au bénéfice des citoyens. Les travaux menés se sont d’abord concrétisés par le dépôt du Projet de loi visant à améliorer l’accessibilité et l’efficacité de la justice, notamment pour répondre à des conséquences de la pandémie de la COVID-19, lequel comprend plusieurs mesures issues de propositions de la Table Justice-Québec.

En outre, les mesures retenues par la Table Justice-Québec se retrouvent dans le Plan d’action 2020-2021 : une justice de qualité, accessible et au service des citoyens et constitue le fruit des travaux menés par trois sous-comités (avec la participation des directions de plusieurs centres régionaux d’aide juridique et de la Commission) lesquels ont proposé une quarantaine de mesures tant en matière civile, criminelle, pénale, familiale, que jeunesse. Ces mesures s’inscrivent sous cinq grands objectifs:

  1. Adopter les mesures nécessaires à la bonne administration de la justice en raison de l’état d’urgence déclaré;
  2. Adopter des mesures d’efficacité afin de réduire les délais et les coûts pour les citoyens;
  3. Simplifier la procédure pour les citoyens;
  4. En matière criminelle et pénale, adapter la réponse du système judiciaire;
  5. Favoriser le règlement des différends pour un meilleur accès à la justice.


INDEXATION DES SEUILS D’ADMISSIBILITÉ ET BILAN DES HAUSSES SUCCESSIVES

Le 31 mai 2020, les seuils d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique gratuite ont été haussés de 4,8 %. Ce pourcentage correspond à celui de la hausse du salaire minimum du 1er mai 2020. Le 1er janvier 2016, les seuils de l’admissibilité à l’aide juridique avaient été haussés, avec comme référence le salaire minimum. 


Ainsi, une personne seule complétant une semaine de travail de 35 heures au salaire minimum, soit 23 842 $ par année, est admise gratuitement à l’aide juridique. De plus, les services seront gratuits pour une famille formée de deux adultes et de deux enfants dont les revenus sont inférieurs à 39 097 $.

Le régime québécois d’aide juridique comporte également un volet pour les personnes dont les revenus se situent entre les seuils de l’admissibilité gratuite et les seuils maximums avec contribution (volet contributif). Ce volet offre une formule unique qui permet à un justiciable d’être représenté par un avocat devant les tribunaux en connaissant, à l’avance, le coût maximum des honoraires et des frais qui pourraient lui être réclamés. Ce volet permet à une personne de recevoir des services juridiques si ses revenus, biens et liquidités correspondent au barème d’admissibilité en vigueur et si elle verse une contribution financière variant entre 100 $ et 800 $, selon sa composition familiale et sa situation financière. Le barème d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique sous le volet contributif a été également haussé de 4,8 %.

En somme, la bonification des critères de l’admissibilité financière à l’aide juridique touche celles et ceux qui travaillent et dont les revenus sont modestes, ainsi que les aînés qui ont comme source principale de revenus les prestations de la Sécurité de la vieillesse et le Supplément de revenu garanti.
  • En 15 ans, pour une personne seule, le barème est passé de 8 870 $ à 23 842 $, soit une augmentation de 168,9 %.
  • En 15 ans, pour une personne seule, le barème maximum est passé de 12 640 $ à 33 304 $, soit une augmentation de 163,5 %.

La Commission des services juridiques a développé des outils lui permettant d’évaluer le nombre de dossiers qui, n’eût été la hausse des seuils d’admissibilité financière à l’aide juridique depuis le 1er janvier 2014, n’auraient pas été admissibles à l’aide juridique. Pour l’exercice 2020-2021, ce nombre s’élève à 19 704.


CONSULTATIONS


Un groupe de travail du réseau fut formé et composé de 12 avocats permanents spécialisés dans la représentation des enfants en protection de la jeunesse. Deux membres de ce groupe ont témoigné devant la Commission spéciale sur les droits des enfants et la protection de la jeunesse sous la présidence de madame Régine Laurent, un mémoire ayant préalablement été déposé par le réseau d’aide juridique. Plus de 12 000 enfants sont représentés chaque année par les avocats permanents de l’aide juridique, tant en matière d’adoption que de protection.


Un autre groupe de travail du réseau de l’aide juridique formé de 12 avocats permanents spécialisés en droit administratif et social ont rédigé un mémoire dans le cadre des consultations particulières et auditions publiques sur le projet de loi n° 84 (Loi visant à aider les personnes victimes d’infractions criminelles et à favoriser leur rétablissement).


Les deux mémoires peuvent être consultés sur le site Internet de la Commission à l’onglet Infos juridiques/Publications ou en cliquant sur les liens suivants :


CONDITIONS ET RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL

Les conventions collectives des avocats et des employés de bureau étant échues respectivement depuis le 31 décembre 2019 et le 31 mars 2020, un comité de négociation patronal unique à toutes les tables a été mis sur pied. Il a pour objectif de s’assurer de l’uniformité et de la cohérence dans les conditions de travail offertes à l’ensemble des professionnels et employés syndiqués du réseau de l’aide juridique dans le respect des particularités régionales. Les négociations ont débuté le 12 mars 2020 et, en date du 31 mars 2021, pas moins de 46 rencontres ont été tenues aux 7 tables distinctes. Ainsi, les éléments normatifs sont très avancés et aux tables des employés de bureau, la négociation sur les éléments financiers a même débuté.

Par ailleurs, les travaux de l’exercice de la relativité salariale se sont finalisés au cours de la dernière année s’assurant ainsi de l’équité interne entre les différentes catégories d’emplois pour l’ensemble des salariés du réseau avec effet au 2 avril 2019.


RELATIONS AVEC LES PARTENAIRES ET IMPLICATIONS DANS LES COMITÉS DE JUSTICE

Le 14 mars 2020, la Commission des services juridiques a été approchée par la ministre de la Justice et le Bâtonnier du Québec afin de mettre sur pied en collaboration avec le Centre d’accès à l’information juridique (CAIJ) une clinique juridique COVID-19 visant à informer l’ensemble de la population québécoise sur leurs droits en lien avec la pandémie. 

Pour la période du 20 mars au 29 mai 2020, la clinique a reçu près de 17 000 appels, dont plus de 15 000 pour des consultations juridiques dans tous les domaines de droit. Plus de 160 avocats y ont œuvré dont 135 avocats permanents du réseau de l’aide juridique.

La Commission a participé avec la Cour du Québec, le ministère de la Justice, le Directeur des poursuites criminelles et pénales et le ministère de la Sécurité publique à la mise en place d’un projet-pilote de comparutions et enquêtes sur remise en liberté par vidéoconférence des personnes arrêtées et détenues les fins de semaine et les jours fériés. Ce projet-pilote a débuté le 28 avril 2020 à Montréal et Québec et est maintenant étendu à l’ensemble des districts judiciaires au Québec. 

De façon plus générale, dès le 7 avril 2020, avec des partenaires du milieu juridique, la Commission a participé au Comité sur la tenue des audiences virtuelles et semi-virtuelles visant le développement de telles audiences. Un comité opérationnel montréalais auquel la Commission participe également touche davantage les audiences dans les établissements de santé, notamment en santé mentale.

Également, au début du mois d’avril 2020, à la demande du ministère de la Justice, la Commission a participé à un Comité ayant pour mission de suggérer des modifications au Code criminel post COVID-19.

Au début du mois de mai 2020, afin de partager des enjeux communs à nos organisations respectives, la Commission a collaboré de façon hebdomadaire avec les hauts dirigeants au Directeur des poursuites criminelles et pénales. À certaines occasions, lorsque les sujets s’y prêtaient, les associations des avocats de la défense ont été invitées à se joindre aux rencontres pour mettre en commun des constats et à les transmettre tant à la magistrature qu’au ministère de la Justice.

L’entente de service avec Éducaloi a été renouvelée pour deux années.

La Commission des services juridiques a participé activement avec les partenaires aux comités suivants :
  • Association des régimes d’aide juridique du Canada;
  • Comité de parties prenantes du Bureau de la transformation organisationnelle y compris le Comité d’arrimage tactique et opérationnel ainsi qu’à un sous-comité;
  • Comité Justice dans le Nord;
  • Comité directeur et Comité de coordination du Programme d’accompagnement Justice et Santé mentale (PAJ-SM);
  • Forum québécois sur l’accès à la justice civile et familiale;
  • Forum sociojudiciaire autochtone;
  • Groupe de travail permanent sur l’aide juridique fédéral-provincial-territorial (GTP-FPT);
  • Groupe de travail indépendant sur les tarifs d’aide juridique (observatrice);
  • Groupe de travail sur la mise en place d’un tribunal spécialisé en matière de violences sexuelles et de violence conjugale;
  • Table Justice-Québec et sous-comités;
  • La Grande assemblée de l’Institut québécois de réforme du droit et de la justice.


LA PANDÉMIE DU CORONAVIRUS

Le dernier exercice a été marqué par la pandémie de COVID-19.


La Commission des services juridiques a pris les moyens utiles pour protéger la santé et la sécurité de son personnel. Elle a ciblé le télétravail comme étant la forme d’organisation de travail optimale pour atténuer les impacts de la pandémie, tout en permettant la poursuite des activités professionnelles. Elle s’est assurée que les mesures de sécurité nécessaires à la protection de ses données soient intégrées à ses systèmes informatiques.


La Commission a continuellement mis à jour ses façons de faire pour se conformer aux directives de la santé publique, de la CNESST et des autres autorités gouvernementales.


La Commission a également mis de l’avant pendant cette période des mesures temporaires d’assouplissement pour le traitement des demandes d’aide juridique et le paiement des factures des mandats d’aide juridique aux avocats de la pratique privée qui perdureront aussi longtemps que les mesures d’urgence sanitaire seront reconduites par le gouvernement.





Photo de la section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017