| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
News room/ Highlights

Highlights 2007-2008


Key decisions made by the Commissioners

The Commissioners adopted a modernization plan for distributing legal aid network resources. Adoption of the plan will allow for improved distribution of resources allocated to the Commission des services juridiques by the Conseil du trésor (Quebec’s treasury board) to meet the demands of legal aid clients.

As part of the orientations adopted by the Conseil du trésor regarding implementation of modern and proven internal audit practices, the Commission’s administrative committee formed itself into an audit committee. In that capacity, it will meet with the Commission’s external auditor who will be mandated to audit the Commission’s financial statements and who will have supervisory powers over regional office auditors.

Third increase of eligibility thresholds

On January 1, 2008 legal aid eligibility thresholds were increased for the third year in a row, following the adoption of the Regulation to amend the Regulation respecting legal aid, enacted by Order in Council 1277-2005 dated December 21, 2005. The Regulation provides for annual increases until January 1, 2010, inclusively.

The Regulation also provides for annual indexation of legal aid eligibility thresholds in keeping with the benefit increase rate granted under the Social Solidarity Program to persons with severe employment limitations.

Pay equity

On June 21, 2007, the Legal Aid Act was amended so that the Commission would be considered the employer of all regional centre employees for the purposes of the Pay Equity Act. Thus, a single pay equity program will be established for all Commission and regional centre employees.

Accordingly, representatives of the Commission and the regional centres, management and employees have embarked on discussions that should lead to the signing of a pay equity agreement as soon as possible in accordance with the provisions of the Pay Equity Act.

Assessment of the application of the Legal Aid Act

The Commission, together with the regional centres, continued its file audits to ensure proper application of the Legal Aid Act and the regulations enacted thereunder. The exercise indicated that no applicant was ineligible for legal aid on the date of the opening of the relevant file. For fiscal 2007-2008, the Commission noted significant improvement in the work carried out by the regional centres in that respect.

Undetermined applications

This fiscal year, the Commission, in conjunction with the regional centres, decided to track the distribution of applications not determined as at March 31, 2007. This is a first and the overall results are presented in tables1a) and 7a) of Section 11 on statistical data and client user profiles.

Information campaign

In the spring of 2007, the Commission's Service des communications and the lawyers in our regional centres launched an information campaign on the theme « Purchasing a used vehicle?a wise decision? ». On that occasion, the Commission and the regional centres provided consumers with a practical checklist they could use before and after buying a used vehicle. The campaign kicked off with a series of province-wide press conferences given by the Commission's network of lawyers. The Chairman and a lawyer from the Commission's Service de recherche also gave interviews to journalists from the various media.

Submissions made in connection with the Public Consultation on the Living Conditions of the Elderly

The Commission des services juridiques filed a submission in connection with the Public Consultation on the Living Conditions of the Elderly organized by The Honourable Marguerite Blais, Minister Responsible for Seniors. The submission recommended amendments to the Legal Aid Regulation that would make more elderly persons eligible for legal aid. The submission was enthusiastically received and a copy was sent to the Minister of Justice.

Robert-Sauvé Award

The Robert-Sauvé Award, Public-at-Large category, was given jointly (ex æquo) to two candidates: Arlène Gaudreault, for her work in the area of victimology and Mr. Fernand Côté, for his involvement with street youth. The Robert-Sauvé Award, Legal Aid Network category, was given to Claude Beaulieu, a retired lawyer from the Centre régional du Saguenay – Lac Saint-Jean, for his community involvement and his work defending disadvantaged clients.

Tariff of fees of advocates in private practice

During fiscal 2007-2008, the Ministère de la Justice reached an agreement with the Barreau du Québec pertaining to renewal of the Regulation to ratify the Agreement between the Minister of Justice and the Barreau du Québec entered into on 4 April 1997 respecting the conditions of practice, the procedure for the settlement of disputes and the tariff of fees of advocates under the legal aid plan. The Regulation will come into force in fiscal year 2009, and will be retroactive to April 1, 2007.

Operation Relevé 27 – Government payments

In fiscal 2008, the Commission des services juridiques contacted all lawyers whose fees are paid pursuant to issuance of legal aid mandates and it obtained the information necessary to issue Relevés 27 (government payment slips) prescribed by the Ministère du Revenu. That exercise was successful due in large part to the cooperation of the various lawyers participating in the legal aid plan. As a result, a greater number of lawyers send their invoices over the net and agree to be paid by direct deposit.

Megatrials

The Commission des services juridiques and the Ministère de la Justice du Québec entered into a new agreement respecting payment of the fees of lawyers in private practice involved in megatrials. The Commission des services juridiques manages account settlements resulting from court decisions ordering the Government of Québec to pay the professional fees of the lawyers of certain accused persons. Thus, Invoices sent by lawyers of fees not necessarily covered under the legal aid plan in private practice would be subject to the same audits. 

Picture of the section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Salle de presse/ Faits saillants

Faits saillants 2007-2008


Décisions marquantes des commissaires

Les commissaires ont adopté le Plan d’actualisation de répartition des effectifs du réseau de l’aide juridique. L’adoption de ce plan permettra, à terme, de mieux répartir les ressources allouées à la Commission des services juridiques par le Conseil du trésor pour faire face à la demande de la clientèle de l’aide juridique.

Dans le cadre des orientations adoptées par le Conseil du trésor favorisant la mise en place depratiques modernes et éprouvées de vérification interne, le Comité administratif de la Commission s’est constitué en comité de vérification. À ce titre, il rencontrera le vérificateur externe de la Commission des services juridiques qui a pour mission de vérifier les états financiers de la Commission et qui exerce un droit de regard à l’égard des vérificateurs des centres régionaux.

Troisième hausse des seuils d’admissibilité

Le 1er janvier 2008, les seuils d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique ont été augmentés pour la troisième année consécutive à la suite de l’adoption du Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur l’aide juridique édicté par le décret 1277-2005 du 21 décembre 2005. Ce règlement prévoit des augmentations annuelles qui s’échelonnent jusqu’au 1er janvier 2010 inclusivement. Le règlement prévoit aussi qu’à chaque année, les seuils d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique sont indexés selon le taux d’augmentation des prestations du Programme de solidarité sociale accordées aux personnes qui présentent des contraintes sévères à l’emploi.

Équité salariale

Le 21 juin 2007, la Loi sur l’aide juridique a été amendée afin que la Commission soit considérée comme l’employeur de tous les salariés des centres régionaux pour les fins de l’application de la Loi sur l’équité salariale. Ainsi, un seul programme d’équité salariale sera établi pour l’ensemble des salariés de la Commission et des centres régionaux. Dans ce cadre, les représentants de la Commission et des centres régionaux, employeurs et salariés ont débuté les discussions qui conduiront à la signature d’une entente sur l’équité salariale conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur l’équité salariale.

Évaluation de l’application de la Loi sur l’aide juridique

La Commission, de concert avec les centres régionaux, a poursuivi les travaux de vérification des dossiers pour assurer l’application conforme de la Loi sur l’aide juridique et de ses règlements. Il ressort de ces travaux qu’aucune demande n’a été accueillie alors que le requérant était inadmissible à l’aide juridique à la date d’ouverture du dossier. Pour l’exercice 2007-2008, la Commission a constaté qu’il y a une grande amélioration dans le travail fait par les centres régionaux à cet égard.

Demandes non statuées

La Commission, de concert avec les centres régionaux, a décidé au cours du présent exercice de faire le suivi de la répartition des demandes non statuées au 31 mars 2007. Il s’agit d’une première; les résultats de cette répartition apparaissent globalement aux tableaux 1a) et 7a) du chapitre 11 portant sur les données statistiques et le profil de la clientèle.

Campagne d’information

Le Service des communications de la Commission et les avocats des centres régionaux ont lancé, au printemps 2007, une campagne d’information sous le thème « Ma voiture d’occasion, un achat judicieux ? ». À cette occasion, la Commission et les centres régionaux ont mis à la disposition des consommateurs un aide-mémoire pratique pouvant être utilisé avant, pendant et après l’achat d’un véhicule d’occasion. Cette campagne a débuté par une série de conférences de presse tenues à travers la province par des avocats du réseau. Le président et un avocat du Service de recherche ont aussi donné plusieurs entrevues aux différents médias.

Mémoire déposé dans le cadre de la Consultation publique sur les conditions de vie des aînés

La Commission des services juridiques a produit et déposé un mémoire dans le cadre de la Consultation publique sur les conditions de vie des aînés organisée par madame Marguerite Blais, ministre responsable des Aînés. Ce mémoire recommande que le Règlement sur l’aide juridique soit modifié afin que plus de personnes âgées puissent être admissibles à l’aide juridique. Ce mémoire a été reçu chaleureusement et une copie a été transmise au ministre de la Justice.

Attribution du prix Robert-Sauvé

Le prix Robert-Sauvé, volet grand public, a été décerné à deux candidats ex æquo : madame Arlène Gaudreault, pour son engagement dans le domaine de la victimologie et monsieur Fernand Côté, pour son implication auprès des jeunes de la rue. Le prix Robert-Sauvé, volet réseau, a été remis à Me Claude Beaulieu, avocat retraité du Centre régional d’aide juridique du Saguenay – Lac Saint-Jean, pour son implication communautaire et son travail à la défense des plus démunis.

Tarif des honoraires des avocats de la pratique privée

Au cours de l’année financière 2007-2008, le ministère de la Justice en est venu à une entente avec le Barreau du Québec relativement au renouvellement du Règlement ratifiant l’entente entre le ministre de la Justice et le Barreau du Québec intervenue le 14 décembre 2000 sur les conditions d’exercice, la procédure de règlement des différends et le tarif des honoraires des avocats dans le cadre du régime d’aide juridique. Ce règlement entrera en vigueur au cours du prochain exercice financier et aura un effet rétroactif au 1er avril 2007.

Opération Relevé 27 – Paiements du gouvernement

Au cours de l’exercice financier, la Commission des services juridiques a communiqué avec tous les avocats qui reçoivent des paiements d’honoraires à la suite de l’émission d’un mandat d’aide juridique et a obtenu les informations nécessaires afin d’être en mesure d’émettre des relevés 27 (paiements du gouvernement) prescrits par le ministère du Revenu. Cette opération s’est faite sans heurts et avec la collaboration des avocats qui participent au régime d’aide juridique. Cette opération a permis d’augmenter le nombre d’avocats qui soumettent leur facturation par Internet et qui acceptent d’être payés par dépôt direct.

Mégaprocès

La Commission des services juridiques et le ministère de la Justice du Québec ont conclu une nouvelle entente relative au paiement des honoraires des avocats de la pratique privée dans le cadre des mégaprocès. La Commission des services juridiques gère le paiement des comptes engendrés par les décisions des tribunaux qui ont ordonné au gouvernement du Québec de payer les honoraires des avocats de certains accusés. Il s’agit du paiement d’honoraires qui ne relèvent pas nécessairement du régime d’aide juridique, mais les factures transmises par les avocats de la pratique privée font alors l’objet des mêmes vérifications. 

Photo de la section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017