| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
News room/ Highlights

Highlights 2008-2009


Key decisions made by the Commissioners

In October 2008, the Commissioners adopted a regulation respecting the ethics and standards of professional conduct of staff of the Commission des services juridiques entitled Règlement sur l’éthique et la déontologie du personnel de la Commission des services juridiques. The regulation complements the Code of ethics and standards of professional conduct of the administrators of the Commission des services juridiques. Both documents can be found on the Commission’s Web site.

In March 2009, the Commissioners adopted the Strategic Plan and the Sustainable Development Action Plan of the Commission des services juridiques for the 2009-2013 fiscal years.


Fourth increase of eligibility thresholds

On January 1, 2009 legal aid eligibility thresholds were increased for the fourth year in a row, following the adoption of the Regulation to amend the Regulation respecting legal aid, enacted by Order in Council 1277-2005 dated December 21, 2005. The regulation provides for annual increases until January 1, 2010, inclusively.

The regulation also provides for annual indexation of legal aid eligibility thresholds in keeping with the benefit increase rate granted under the Social Solidarity Program to persons with severe employment limitations.


Pay equity

On June 21, 2007, the Legal Aid Act was amended so that the Commission would be considered the employer of all regional centre employees for purposes of the Pay Equity Act. Thus, a single pay equity program will be established for all Commission and regional centre employees.

Representatives of the Commission and the regional centres, management and employees held several meetings during the year. The process involves four steps; two have been completed and the third had already been initiated as of March 31, 2009. The purpose of the discussions is to arrive at an agreement on pay equity in accordance with the Pay Equity Act.


Increase in legal aid applications

The year 2008-2009 saw a considerable increase in the number of legal aid applications. During the year, applications increased by 3% and the percentage of applications accepted by legal aid staff lawyers increased by 4.7%. These results suggest that the orientations adopted by the Commissioners in 2005-2006 and the efforts of the legal aid network to ensure a balance in the plan offerings are bearing fruit.


Undetermined applications

Tracking of the distribution of undetermined applications and the work carried out during the fiscal year made it possible to reduce the number of undetermined applications as at March 31, 2009. The results of the distribution of undetermined applications as at March 31, 2008 are presented in tables 1A and 7A of Section 12 on statistical data and client user profiles.


Information campaign

In the spring of 2008, the Commission’s Communications Department and the lawyers in the regional centres launched an information campaign on the legal aspects of de facto spouses entitled “Your de facto union — A Wise Choice?” As part of the campaign, the Commission and the regional centres provided the public with a practical checklist for spouses living in a de facto union. The campaign began with a series of press conferences held by network lawyers throughout the province and with media interviews.


Measures to counter double billing

In October 2008, the Commission des services juridiques adopted measures to remind legal aid users that, throughout the duration of a legal aid mandate, they should never have to pay additional fees to the lawyer representing them. The Commission des services juridiques designed posters to that effect and the legal aid offices distributed to each client with a lawyer in private practice acting under a legal aid mandate, a notice reminding such clients that they were not required to pay any sums directly to their lawyer. A press release was distributed as part of this initiative and management of the regional centres took steps to make their staff aware of the situation.


Robert-Sauvé Award

The 2008 Robert-Sauvé Award, Public-at-Large category, was given to Sister Marie-Claire Bazinet for her work with children and underprivileged families in the High Laurentians. The Legal Aid Network category of the award was given to Me Bernard Bergeron, director of the Drummondville legal aid bureau of the Regional legal aid centre of the Mauricie -- Bois-Francs region, for his involvement with disadvantaged persons facing criminal charges and mental health problems as well as for his work with troubled young adults.


Tariff of fees of advocates in private practice

The Regulation to ratify the Agreement between the Minister of Justice and the Barreau du Québec respecting the conditions of practice, the procedure for the settlement of disputes and the tariff of fees of advocates under the legal aid plan entered into on 4 April 2008 came into force on October 23, 2008 and, as of October 24, 2008, lawyers in private practice began receiving retroactive payments under the new tariff. As such, an amount of $2,895,288 in fees and an amount of $47,895 in disbursements were paid to 1,956 lawyers in private practice, with an average payment of $1,505 per lawyer.

As of February 12, 2009, the Coordination Committee created under the regulation and composed of representatives of the Minister of Justice, the Barreau du Québec and the Commission des services juridiques began to meet to discuss the application of the agreement.


Megatrials

The Commission des services juridiques manages account settlements resulting from court decisions ordering the Québec and federal governments to pay the professional fees of the lawyers of certain accused persons. This involves the payment of fees that are not necessarily covered under the legal aid system and are payable according to terms that differ noticeably from those set forth in the Regulation to ratify the Agreement between the Minister of Justice and the Barreau du Québec respecting the conditions of practice, the procedure for the settlement of disputes and the tariff of fees of advocates under the legal aid plan entered into on 4 April 2008. The Administrative Committee of the Commission des services juridiques adopted a procedure for the payment of special fees to lawyers at the request of the Québec and federal ministers of justice so as to establish a formal mechanism ensuring that payments made under the agreement are tracked and controlled.


Legal department of the Commission des services juridiques

The Commission des services juridiques established a legal department to represent it before the courts in certain disputes. This new responsibility is being handled by the lawyers in the Commission’s Research Department. 

Picture of the section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Salle de presse/ Faits saillants

Faits saillants 2008-2009


Les décisions marquantes des commissaires

Les commissaires ont adopté le Règlement sur l’éthique et la déontologie du personnel de la Commission des services juridiques au cours du mois d’octobre 2008. Ce règlement s’ajoute au Code d’éthique et de déontologie des administrateurs de la Commission des services juridiques. Ces deux documents sont publiés sur le site Internet de la Commission.

Les commissaires ont adopté au cours du mois de mars 2009 le Plan stratégique et le Plan d’action de développement durable de la Commission des services juridiques pour les années financières 2009 à 2013.


La quatrième hausse des seuils d’admissibilité

Le 1er janvier 2009, les seuils d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique ont été augmentés pour la quatrième année consécutive à la suite de l’adoption du Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur l’aide juridique édicté par le décret 1277-2005 du 21 décembre 2005. Ce règlement prévoit des augmentations annuelles qui s’échelonnent jusqu’au 1er janvier 2010 inclusivement.

Le règlement prévoit aussi que chaque année, les seuils d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique sont indexés selon le taux d’augmentation des prestations du Programme de solidarité sociale accordées aux personnes qui présentent des contraintes sévères à l’emploi.


Équité salariale

Le 21 juin 2007, la Loi sur l’aide juridique a été amendée afin que la Commission soit considérée comme l’employeur de tous les salariés des centres régionaux pour les fins de l’application de la Loi sur l’équité salariale. Ainsi, un seul programme d’équité salariale sera établi pour l’ensemble des salariés de la Commission et des centres régionaux.

Les représentants de la Commission et des centres régionaux, employeurs et salariés, ont tenu plusieurs rencontres au cours de l’année. Ces travaux prévoient quatre étapes dont deux sont complétées et la troisième déjà entamée au 31 mars 2009. Ces discussions conduiront à la signature d’une entente sur l’équité salariale conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur l’équité salariale.


Hausse de la demande d’aide juridique

L’année 2008-2009 marque une hausse appréciable de la demande d’aide juridique. Au cours de la dernière année financière, la demande s’est accrue de 3% et la part de la demande acceptée par les avocats salariés de l’aide juridique a augmentée de 4,7%. Ces résultats tendent à démontrer que les orientations prises par les commissaires en 2005-2006 et les efforts faits par le réseau de l’aide juridique pour assurer l’équilibre de la mixité du régime portent fruit.


Demandes non statuées

Le suivi de la répartition des demandes non statuées et les travaux complétés en cours d’exercice ont permis d’en réduire le nombre au 31 mars 2009. Les résultats de la répartition des demandes non statuées au 31 mars 2008 apparaissent aux tableaux 1A et 7A de la section 12 portant sur les données statistiques et le profil de la clientèle.


Campagne d’information

Le Service des communications de la Commission et des avocats des centres régionaux ont lancé, au printemps 2008, une campagne d’information sur la réalité juridique des conjoints de fait intitulée : « Votre union de fait, un choix réfléchi ? » À cette occasion, la Commission et les centres régionaux ont mis à la disposition du public un aide-mémoire pratique pour les conjoints vivant en union de fait. Cette campagne a débuté par une série de conférences de presse tenues à travers la province par des avocats du réseau et des entrevues auprès de différents médias.


Mesures pour contrer la double facturation

La Commission des services juridiques a adopté en octobre 2008 des mesures afin de rappeler à la clientèle de l’aide juridique qu’elle ne doit jamais verser d’honoraires supplémentaires à l’avocat qui la représente pendant toute la durée du mandat d’aide juridique dont elle bénéficie. La Commission des services juridiques a conçu des affiches à cet effet et les bureaux d’aide juridique ont distribué à chaque client dont l’avocat de la pratique privée bénéficiait d’un mandat d’aide juridique, un avis rappelant qu’ils n’ont aucune somme d’argent à verser directement à leur avocat. Cette initiative a donné lieu à la diffusion d’un communiqué de presse et d’une intervention des directions des centres régionaux afin de sensibiliser leur personnel à cette situation.


L’attribution du prix Robert-Sauvé

Le prix Robert-Sauvé 2008, volet grand public, a été décerné à Soeur Marie-Claire Bazinet pour son engagement auprès des enfants et des familles démunies des Hautes-Laurentides. Le volet réseau de ce prix a été remis à Me Bernard Bergeron, directeur du bureau d’aide juridique de Drummondville du Centre régional d’aide juridique de la Mauricie -- Bois-Francs, pour son implication auprès de personnes démunies face à des accusations criminelles et à des problèmes de santé mentale ainsi qu’auprès de jeunes adultes en difficulté.


Tarif des honoraires des avocats de la pratique privée

Le Règlement ratifiant l’entente entre le ministre de la Justice et le Barreau du Québec intervenue le 4 avril 2008 sur les conditions d’exercice, la procédure de règlement des différends et le tarif des honoraires des avocats dans le cadre du régime d’aide juridique est entré en vigueur le 23 octobre 2008 et, dès le 24 octobre 2008, les avocats de la pratique privée recevaient le paiement rétroactif applicable à ce nouveau tarif. Un montant de 2 895 288 $ d’honoraires et un montant de 47 895 $ de déboursés ont alors été versés à 1 956 avocats de la pratique privée pour un versement moyen de 1 505 $ par avocat.

Dès le 12 février 2009, le Comité de coordination créé par ce règlement et composé de représentants de la ministre de la Justice, du Barreau du Québec et de la Commission des services juridiques s’est réuni pour discuter de l’application de cette entente.


Mégaprocès

La Commission des services juridiques gère le paiement des comptes engendrés par les décisions des tribunaux qui ont ordonné aux gouvernements du Québec et du Canada de payer les honoraires des avocats de certains accusés. Il s’agit du paiement d’honoraires qui ne relèvent pas nécessairement du régime d’aide juridique et qui sont payables selon des modalités sensiblement différentes de celles qui se retrouvent au Règlement ratifiant l’entente entre le ministre de la Justice et le Barreau du Québec intervenue le 4 avril 2008 sur les conditions d’exercice, la procédure de règlement des différends et le tarif des honoraires des avocats dans le cadre du régime d’aide juridique. Le Comité administratif de la Commission des services juridiques a adopté une procédure pour le paiement des honoraires spéciaux à des avocats à la demande des ministres de la Justice du Québec et du Canada de façon à instaurer un mécanisme formel assurant le suivi et le contrôle des paiements effectués dans le cadre de cette entente.


Contentieux de la Commission des services juridiques

La Commission des services juridiques a mis en place un contentieux chargé de la représenter devant les tribunaux dans certains litiges. Ce sont les avocats du Service de recherche de la Commission qui assument cette nouvelle responsabilité. 

Photo de la section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017