| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
News room/ De Facto union

Highlights 2009-2010


Key decisions made by the Commissioners

The commissioners adopted the third Action Plan of the Commission des Services Juridiques With Respect to Handicapped Persons. The action plan covers the 2010 to 2012 fiscal years. The Commission des services juridiques cooperates with the regional centres in order to improve access by handicapped persons to legal aid services and thereby ensure they can fully exercise their rights.

In January 2010, the commissioners also adopted the Annual Information Technology and Communications Francization Action Plan for fiscal 2010-2011. It sets out the undertaking of the Commission des services juridiques to work towards ensuring that the entire legal aid network complies with the Government of Québec's standards for information resources.

The fifth year of an increase in the eligibility thresholds

On January 1, 2010, legal aid eligibility thresholds were increased for the fifth consecutive year, following the adoption of the Regulation to amend the Regulation respecting legal aid, enacted by Order in Council 1277-2005 dated December 21, 2005. This is the last of the five annual increases provided for in the Regulation.

The Regulation also provides for annual indexation of legal aid eligibility thresholds in keeping with the benefit increase rate granted under the Social Solidarity Program to persons with severe employment limitations.

Increase in legal aid applications

The year 2009-2010 saw an increase in the number of legal aid applications. During the past fiscal year, applications increased by 1.5% and the percentage of applications accepted by legal aid staff lawyers remained stable as compared to last year. These results suggest that the efforts of the legal aid network to maintain a balance in the plan offerings are bearing fruit.

Information campaign

The Communications Department, in cooperation with the Communications Committee, prepared a checklist and information campaign on the theme of « Legal Aid, Ju$tice At the Right Price ». The purpose of the checklist is to foster greater awareness about the legal aid system among potentially eligible persons. Launched within the scope of the Rendez-vous avec la justice week, it is available at legal aid offices and on the Web site of the Commission des services juridiques.

Robert-Sauvé Award

The 2009 Robert-Sauvé Award, Public-at-Large category, was given to Father Yves Marcil for his establishment of some twenty community groups and services that assist individuals affected by poverty. The Legal Aid Network category of the award was conferred upon Me Lise Malouin, a lawyer at the downtown Québec City legal aid bureau of the Regional legal aid centre of Québec, for her involvement as president of the Maison de la famille de Québec and her work to improve access to justice.

Bill 83

Management of the Commission des services juridiques worked with the ministère de la Justice in order to lay the foundation for Bill 83 entitled An Act to provide a framework for mandatory state financing of certain legal services which was introduced in the National Assembly on February 10, 2010 by the Minister of Justice. The Bill aims to amend the Legal Aid Act in order to create a framework for the legal services provided to accused persons involved in certain long and complex trials and the legal services provided where a court order made under the Criminal Code grants certain persons the right to the services of a State-remunerated lawyer. Once this law comes into force, the Commission des services juridiques and the regional legal aid centres will be responsible for the management and provision of the legal services rendered within this framework. 

Picture of the section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Salle de presse/ Union de fait

Faits saillants 2009-2010


Les décisions marquantes des commissaires

Les commissaires ont adopté le troisième Plan d’action de la Commission des services juridiques à l’égard des personnes handicapées. Ce plan d’action couvre les années financières 2010 à 2012. La Commission des services juridiques collabore avec les centres régionaux afin d’améliorer l’accessibilité des personnes handicapées aux services d’aide juridique et ainsi leur assurer le plein exercice de leurs droits.

Les commissaires ont aussi adopté, au cours du mois de janvier 2010, le Plan d’action annuel de francisation des technologies de l’information et des communications pour l’année financière 2010-2011. On y retrouve l’engagement de la Commission des services juridiques à travailler afin que l’ensemble du réseau de l’aide juridique se conforme aux standards du gouvernement du Québec sur les ressources informationnelles.


La cinquième année de la hausse des seuils d’admissibilité

Le 1er janvier 2010, les seuils d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique ont été augmentés pour la cinquième année consécutive à la suite de l’adoption du Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur l’aide juridique édicté par le décret 1277-2005 du 21 décembre 2005. Il s’agit de la dernière des cinq hausses annuelles prévues à ce règlement.

Le règlement prévoit aussi que, chaque année, les seuils d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique sont indexés selon le taux d’augmentation des prestations du Programme de solidarité sociale accordées aux personnes qui présentent des contraintes sévères à l’emploi.


Hausse de la demande d’aide juridique

L’année 2009-2010 marque une hausse de la demande d’aide juridique. Au cours de la dernière année financière, la demande s’est accrue de 1,5 % et la part de la demande acceptée par les avocats salariés de l’aide juridique s’est maintenue au même niveau que l’an dernier. Ces résultats tendent à démontrer que les efforts faits par le réseau de l’aide juridique pour maintenir l’équilibre de la mixité du régime portent leurs fruits.

Campagne d’information

Le Service des communications, en collaboration avec le Comité des communications, a préparé un aide-mémoire et une campagne d’information ayant pour thème « L’aide juridique : une justice à coût $ûr ». Cet aide-mémoire vise à mieux faire connaître le régime d’aide juridique aux personnes potentiellement admissibles. Lancé dans le cadre de la semaine des Rendez-vous avec la justice, il est disponible dans les bureaux d’aide juridique et sur le site Internet de la Commission.


L’attribution du prix Robert-Sauvé

Le prix Robert-Sauvé 2009, volet grand public, a été décerné à l’Abbé Yves Marcil pour la création d’une vingtaine de groupes et de services communautaires pour venir en aide aux personnes touchées par la pauvreté. Le volet réseau de ce prix a été remis à Me Lise Malouin, avocate au bureau d’aide juridique de Québec – Centre-Ville du Centre régional d’aide juridique de Québec, pour son implication à titre de présidente de la Maison de la famille de Québec et son travail afin d’améliorer l’accès à la justice.


Projet de loi 83

La direction de la Commission des services juridiques a travaillé de concert avec le ministère de la Justice afin de préparer les bases du projet de loi 83 concernant la Loi encadrant l’obligation faite à l’État de financer certains services juridiques qui a été présentée à l’Assemblée nationale le 10 février 2010 par la ministre de la Justice. Il s’agit d’un projet de loi qui prévoit modifier la Loi sur l’aide juridique afin d’encadrer les services juridiques offerts aux accusés impliqués dans certains procès longs et complexes ou lorsqu’une ordonnance prise en vertu du Code criminel accorde à certaines personnes les services d’un avocat rémunéré par l’État. Lorsque cette loi sera en vigueur, l a Commission des services juridiques et les centres régionaux d’aide juridique assumeront la gestion de la prestation des services juridiques fournis dans ce cadre. 

Photo de la section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017