| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
News room/ De Facto union

Highlights 2010-2011


Key decisions made by the Commissioners

The Commissioners reviewed the Commission des services juridiques’ Declaration of Services to the Public. The new declaration reflects the amendments to the Act respecting legal aid and the provision of certain other legal services and sets out the undertakings of the Commission and the regional legal aid centres towards the general public and persons who qualify for the services offered under the Act.

The Commissioners adopted the first Politique de sécurité de l’information (information security policy) which contains all the security measures implemented by the Commission des services juridiques with respect to its information resources. It is a comprehensive policy that sets out the general principles regarding the security of information and the roles and responsibilities of those involved with information security within the Commission des services juridiques.

In accordance with the Sustainable Development Action Plan 2009-2013, the Commissioners adopted a Cadre de gestion environnementale and a Plan de gestion environnementale (environmental management framework and plan) that set out the Commission’s environmental management measures and its ecoresponsible procurement practices. The three significant environmental elements selected are business and personal travel, paper usage, and document management and storage. The environmental management plan proposes to reduce fuel consumption and greenhouse gas emissions, to reduce paper usage and encourage its ecoresponsible acquisition, and to reduce occupancy of premises and the consumption of energy.

In order to satisfy the requirements of An Act to implement certain provisions of the Budget Speech of 30 March 2010, reduce the debt and return to a balanced budget in 2013-2014 (S.Q. 2010, c. 20) (the “Balanced Budget Act”), during the current financial year the Commissioners adopted a memorandum containing the Politique de réduction des dépenses de la Commission des services juridiques (policy to reduce the expenses of the Commission des services juridiques). They submitted an application seeking a partial exemption for the Commission from the application of Chapter I of the Balanced Budget Act. The application takes into account the particular characteristics of the legal aid network and includes a more limited target group of reducible expenses which was accepted by the Cabinet.

Thereafter, the Commissioners adopted a Plan de gestion du cadre financier 2010-2014 (financial framework management plan for 2010-2014) in order to outline the financial responsibilities of all entities within the legal aid network and ensure that legal aid recipients continue to receive all the services to which they are entitled while also ensuring that the parameters of the Balanced Budget Act are respected.

Enactment of Chapter III of An Act respecting legal aid and the provision of certain other legal services and creation of the Direction de la gestion de certains services autres que l’aide juridique (department for the management of certain services other than legal aid)

In September 2010, the Legal Aid Act became An Act respecting legal aid and the provision of certain other legal services. The change in the Act’s title is indicative of the new responsibilities conferred by the legislature upon the legal aid network.

During the summer of 2010, the Commission des services juridiques established the Direction de la gestion de certains services autres que l’aide juridique (department for the management of certain services other than legal aid) which was given the mission of providing legal services to those persons who, pursuant to a court order, are entitled to the services of a State-remunerated lawyer and ensuring that the services of a lawyer are provided to accused persons who are not permitted, by the court, to personally cross-examine a witness during their trial and to other persons pursuant to any other court order concerning the appointment of a lawyer under the Criminal Code.


Pay equity

The pay equity program was completed in the fall of 2010, salary adjustments were made and the sums owed to employees were paid in March 2011.

This will be followed by an assessment of the measures for maintaining pay equity and a salary relativity review whose purpose is to ensure that all employees are treated fairly.


Information campaign

The Communications Department, in cooperation with the Communications Committee and the Research Department, prepared a checklist and information campaign on the theme of “It’s Time to Settle My Debts”. During the campaign, the Commission and the regional centres provided the public with a practical checklist for debtors experiencing difficulties in dealing with their indebtedness. The checklist contains recommendations on how debtors can manage their indebtedness, as well as information on the rights of debtors and their recourses when dealing with creditors’ claims.

The campaign began within the scope of the Rendez-vous avec la justice week and was followed by a series of press conferences held by network lawyers throughout the province. The checklist is available at legal aid offices and on the Commission’s website.


Robert-Sauvé Award

The 2010 Robert Sauvé Award, General Public category, was conferred upon Me Charles Clément, a lawyer in private practice, for his exceptional involvement and continuous dedication to a clientele with few avenues for asserting its rights. The Legal Aid Network category of the award was conferred upon Me Raymond A. Gagnon for his commitment to underprivileged members of society who require legal assistance and for his work leading to the creation and establishment of the Community Legal Centre of Québec, of which he was the Director General for over 35 years. 

Picture of the section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Salle de presse/ Union de fait

Faits saillants 2010-2011


Les décisions marquantes des commissaires


Les commissaires ont révisé la Déclaration de services aux citoyens de la Commission des services juridiques. Cette nouvelle déclaration tient compte des modifications qui ont été apportées à la Loi sur l’aide juridique et sur la prestation de certains autres services juridiques et énonce les engagements de la Commission et des centres régionaux d’aide juridique envers les citoyens et les personnes admissibles aux services offerts en vertu de la loi.

Les commissaires ont adopté la première Politique de sécurité de l’information qui regroupe l’ensemble des mesures de sécurité des ressources informationnelles mises en œuvre à la Commission des services juridiques. Il s’agit d’une politique globale qui présente les principes généraux en matière de sécurité de l’information et les rôles et responsabilités des intervenants en sécurité de l’information à la Commission des services juridiques.

Les commissaires ont, conformément au Plan d’action de développement durable 2009-2013, adopté un Cadre et un Plan de gestion environnementale qui contiennent les mesures de gestion environnementale et les pratiques d’acquisitions écoresponsables de la Commission. Les trois aspects environnementaux significatifs retenus sont les déplacements d’affaires et les déplacements personnels, l’utilisation du papier et la gestion documentaire et l’entreposage de documents. Le Plan de gestion environnementale prévoit la réduction de la consommation de carburant et d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre, la diminution de l’utilisation du papier et son acquisition écoresponsable et la réduction de l’occupation des espaces et de la consommation d’énergie.

Pour répondre aux exigences de la Loi mettant en œuvre certaines dispositions du discours sur le budget du 30 mars 2010 et visant le retour à l’équilibre budgétaire en 2013-2014 et la réduction de la dette (L.Q. 2010, c. 20) (Loi visant le retour à l’équilibre budgétaire), les commissaires ont adopté au cours de la présente année financière un mémoire contenant la Politique de réduction des dépenses de la Commission des services juridiques. Ils y ont soumis une demande afin de soustraire partiellement la Commission à l’application du chapitre I de la Loi visant le retour à l’équilibre budgétaire. Cette demande tient compte des particularités du réseau de l’aide juridique et comporte une cible réduite de dépenses compressibles qui a été acceptée par le Conseil des ministres.

Par la suite, les commissaires ont adopté le Plan de gestion du cadre financier 2010-2014 afin d’encadrer les responsabilités financières de toutes les entités du réseau de l’aide juridique et de s’assurer que les bénéficiaires de l’aide juridique puissent continuer de recevoir tous les services auxquels ils ont droit, tout en respectant les paramètres de la Loi visant le retour à l’équilibre budgétaire.


L’adoption du chapitre III de la Loi sur l’aide juridique et sur la prestation de certains autres services juridiques et la création de la Direction de la gestion des services autres que l’aide juridique

En septembre 2010, la Loi sur l’aide juridique est devenue la Loi sur l’aide juridique et sur la prestation de certains autres services juridiques. Ce changement au titre de la loi témoigne de l’ajout de nouvelles responsabilités confiées par le législateur au réseau de l’aide juridique.

Durant l’été 2010, la Commission des services juridiques a mis sur pied la Direction de la gestion des services autres que l’aide juridique à qui a été confiée la mission de voir à fournir des services juridiques aux personnes dont le droit aux services d’un avocat rémunéré par l’État a été reconnu par une ordonnance judiciaire et d’assurer les services d’un avocat à un accusé auquel un tribunal interdit de contre-interroger un témoin dans le cours de son procès ou lors du prononcé de toute autre ordonnance judiciaire portant sur la désignation d’un avocat en vertu du Code criminel.


L’équité salariale

Le programme d’équité salariale a été complété à l’automne 2010, les ajustements salariaux ont été effectués et les sommes dues aux employés ont été versées en mars 2011.

Ces travaux seront suivis d’une démarche d’évaluation du maintien de l’équité salariale et d’une opération de relativité salariale ayant pour but d’assurer un traitement équitable à tous les employés.


Campagne d’information

Le Service des communications en collaboration avec le Comité des communications, et le Service de recherche, a préparé un aide-mémoire et une campagne d’information ayant pour thème « Je règle mes comptes avec mes dettes ». Au cours de cette campagne, la Commission et les centres régionaux ont mis à la disposition du public un aide-mémoire pratique pour les débiteurs ayant des difficultés à faire face à leur situation d’endettement. Cet aide-mémoire regroupe des recommandations relativement à la façon, pour un débiteur, de gérer ses dettes et des informations sur ses droits et ses recours face aux réclamations d’un créancier.

Cette campagne a débuté dans le cadre de la semaine des Rendez-vous avec la justice et s’est poursuivie par une série de conférences de presse tenues à travers la province par des avocats du réseau. L’aide-mémoire est disponible dans les bureaux d’aide juridique et sur le site Internet de la Commission.


L’attribution du Prix Robert-Sauvé

Le Prix Robert-Sauvé 2010, volet grand public, a été décerné à un avocat de la pratique privée, Me Charles Clément, pour la générosité de son implication et son dévouement continu auprès d’une clientèle ayant peu de ressources pour faire valoir ses droits. Le volet réseau de ce prix a été remis à Me Raymond A. Gagnon pour son engagement auprès des justiciables les plus démunis et pour son travail qui a mené à la création et la mise sur pied du Centre communautaire juridique de Québec dont il a été le directeur général pendant plus de 35 ans. 

Photo de la section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017