| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
News room/ De Facto union

Highlights 2011-2012


Key decisions made by the Commissioners

The Commissioners adopted the Commission des services juridiques’ fourth Action Plan With Respect to Persons with Disabilities. The action plan covers the 2012-2013 fiscal year. The Commission is working with the regional legal aid centres in order to improve access by disabled persons to legal aid services and thereby ensure they can fully exercise their rights. In March 2012, the Commissioners also adopted the Commission’s Emergency Plan which provides a general response framework in the event of exceptional circumstances. The plan allows for a structured response to emergency situations by the Commission’s administrators so as to reduce the impact of such situations. The Commissioners also adopted the second Annual Information Technology and Communications Francization Action Plan for fiscal 2012-2013. The Commission undertook to work towards ensuring that the entire legal aid network complies with the Government of Québec’s standards for information resources.

Online billing and teleservices

During the summer of 2011, the Commission stopped printing and mailing the nearly 84,000 payment notices intended for lawyers and notaries in private practice. These notices may now be consulted on the Commission’s intranet. This new method ensures better confidentiality and facilitates billing management.

In addition, the Commission asked lawyers and notaries in private practice to send all their bills electronically as of December 31, 2011.

Lawyers in private practice and notaries have cooperated with both of these initiatives which fit within the Commission’s Sustainable Development Action Plan and the government’s sustainable development strategy.

Appearance of the Commission des services juridiques before the National Assembly’s Committee on Institutions

Within the scope of its mandate to oversee public institutions, the National Assembly’s Committee on Institutions summoned the Commission’s officers to report on the management of the public funds entrusted to them under An Act respecting legal aid and the provision of certain other legal services.

The Commission’s Chairman, Vice-Chairman and officers appeared before the Committee on Institutions on February 15, 2012. The Commission’s Chairman described the objectives and results of the Commission’s operations during fiscal 2010-2011 and answered the Committee’s questions regarding the activities and management of the Commission.

The Commission had not been invited by the Committee on Institutions within the scope of this supervisory mandate since 1997. The Commission’s officers accepted the invitation extended by the Committee after the auditor general filed a report that included recommendations regarding the Commission.

The February 15th hearing provided an opportunity for the Commission to make itself better known to members of the National Assembly. The members of the Committee on Institutions who were present concluded that it would be important to once again review the Commission in the coming years.

Increase of eligibility thresholds

On November 23, 2011, the government published a notice providing for the adoption of a regulation which will gradually increase the eligibility thresholds for gratuitous and contributory legal aid over a period of three years. The draft regulation proposes that the increase, which will take place on June 1st of 2012, 2013 and 2014, will be in addition to the indexation of the thresholds on January 1st of each of those years.

Service administratif de révision des pensions alimentaires (SARPA) [child support recalculation service]

At a press conference held on November 29, 2011, the Minister of Justice, Me Jean-Marc Fournier, announced that he would be tabling a bill to create a child support recalculation service in cooperation with the Commission des services juridiques. This announcement was followed by the introduction in the National Assembly of Bill 64, entitled “An Act to promote access to justice in family matters”. The bill provides for the creation of an administrative service within the Commission des services juridiques entrusted with the mandate to recalculate child support and amends An Act respecting legal aid and the provision of certain other legal services in order to offer all citizens the professional services of a lawyer for the purpose of obtaining a judgment on an agreement, submitted in a joint application, which settles all child custody and child support matters.

Robert-Sauvé Award

The 2011 Robert-Sauvé Award, General Public category, was conferred posthumously upon Father Jean-Louis Morin for over 30 years of work providing a more compassionate living environment for homeless people suffering from mental health problems, alcoholism, drug addiction and chronic social disorganization. The winner in the Legal Aid Network category was Ms. Suzanne Pilon for her contribution to promoting the rights of the disadvantaged through her work in the Research Department of the Commission des services juridiques and through her involvement in community activities aimed at the social reintegration of adults with limited intellectual abilities. 

Picture of the section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Salle de presse/ Faits saillants

Faits saillants 2011-2012


Les décisions marquantes des commissaires

Les commissaires ont adopté le quatrième Plan d’action de la Commission des services juridiques à l’égard des personnes handicapées. Ce plan d’action couvre l’année financière 2012-2013. La Commission des services juridiques collabore avec les centres régionaux d’aide juridique afin d’améliorer l’accessibilité des personnes handicapées aux services d’aide juridique et ainsi leur assurer le plein exercice de leurs droits. Les commissaires ont aussi adopté, au cours du mois de mars 2012, le Plan d’urgence de la Commission des services juridiques qui donne le cadre général d’intervention en cas de circonstances exceptionnelles. Ce plan permet de structurer les réponses des gestionnaires de la Commission lors de situations d’urgence et de réduire ainsi leurs impacts. Les commissaires ont également adopté le second Plan d’action annuel de francisation des technologies de l’information et des communications pour l’année financière 2012-2013. La Commission des services juridiques s’est engagée à travailler afin que l’ensemble du réseau de l’aide juridique se conforme aux standards du gouvernement du Québec sur les ressources informationnelles.


Facturation en ligne et téléservices

Au cours de l’été 2011, la Commission des services juridiques a cessé l’impression et l’envoi par la poste de près de 84 000 avis de paiements destinés aux avocats et notaires de la pratique privée. Ces avis peuvent dorénavant être consultés sur l’intranet du site Web de la Commission. Ce nouveau mode de consultation assure une meilleure confidentialité et facilite la gestion de la facturation.

De plus, la Commission a demandé aux avocats et notaires de la pratique privée de transmettre toutes leurs factures par voie électronique dès le 31 décembre 2011.

Les avocats de la pratique privée et les notaires ont collaboré à ces deux opérations qui s’intègrent au Plan d’action de la Commission et à la stratégie gouvernementale de développement durable.


Comparution de la Commission des services juridiques devant la Commission des institutions de l’Assemblée nationale

La Commission des institutions de l’Assemblée nationale a, dans le cadre de son mandat de surveillance des organismes publics, convoqué la Commission des services juridiques afin que ses dirigeants répondent de la gestion des fonds publics qui leur sont confiés dans le cadre de l’application de la Loi sur l’aide juridique et sur la prestation de certains autres services juridiques.

Le président, la vice-présidente et les officiers de la Commission ont comparu le 15 février 2012 devant les membres de la Commission des institutions. Le président de la Commission a livré un exposé portant sur les objectifs et les résultats des opérations de la Commission des services juridiques au cours de l’année financière 2010-2011 et il a répondu aux questions des parlementaires portant sur les activités et la gestion de la Commission des services juridiques.

La Commission des services juridiques n’avait pas été invitée par la Commission des institutions dans le cadre de ce mandat de surveillance depuis 1997. Les dirigeants avaient alors répondu à l’invitation des parlementaires après que le vérificateur général eut déposé un rapport comprenant des recommandations la concernant.

L’audition du 15 février a permis à la Commission des services juridiques de mieux se faire connaître des parlementaires. Les membres de la Commission des institutions présents ont conclu qu’il serait important pour eux de revoir la Commission des services juridiques dans les prochaines années.


Hausse des seuils d’admissibilité

Le 23 novembre 2011, le gouvernement a publié un avis prévoyant l’adoption d’un règlement visant à hausser progressivement, sur une période de trois ans, les seuils d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique gratuite ou moyennant le versement d’une contribution. Ce projet prévoit que cette hausse qui s’effectuera au 1er juin de chacune d es années 2012 à 2014 s’ajoutera à l’indexation des seuils prévue au 1er janvier de chacune de ces années.


Service administratif de révision des pensions alimentaires (SARPA)

Lors d’une conférence de presse tenue le 29 novembre 2011, le ministre de la Justice,MeJean-Marc Fournier, a annoncé qu’il déposerait un projet de loi créant un service d’aide à la révision des pensions alimentaires pour enfants en collaboration avec la Commission des services juridiques. Cette annonce a été suivie du dépôt à l’Assemblée nationale du Projet de loi 64 intitulé « Loi favorisant l’accès à la justice en matière familiale ». Ce projet prévoit la création, au sein de la Commission des services juridiques, d’un service administratif chargé de procéder au rajustement des pensions alimentaires pour enfants et modifie la Loi sur l’aide juridique et sur la prestation de certains autres services juridiques afin d’offrir à l’ensemble de la population les services professionnels d’un avocat pour l’obtention d’un jugement relatif à une entente, présentée dans une demande conjointe, portant règlement complet en matière de garde d’enfants ou d’obligation alimentaire.


L’attribution du Prix Robert-Sauvé

Le Prix Robert-Sauvé 2011, volet grand public, a été décerné à titre posthume au Père Jean-Louis Morin pour son travail de plus de 30 ans afin d’offrir un milieu de vie plus humain à des personnes itinérantes souffrant de problèmes de santé mentale, d’alcoolisme, de toxicomanie et de désorganisation sociale chronique. Le volet réseau de ce prix a été remis à Mme Suzanne Pilon pour sa contribution à la promotion des droits des démunis tant par son travail au Service de recherche de la Commission des services juridiques que par son engagement dans des activités communautaires destinées à la réinsertion sociale d’adultes atteints de limitations fonctionnelles au plan intellectuel. 

Photo de la section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017