| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
News room/ Highlights

Highlights 2012-2013


Vice-Chairman

On February 4, 2013, the Cabinet appointed Me Céline Giroux Vice-Chairman of the Commission des services juridiques. She replaced Me Lucie Dufresne, whose term of office ended on July 3, 2012.


Key Decisions Made By the Commissioners

The Commission des services juridiques adopted a plan allowing it to borrow up to $11 million through short-term loans and lines of credit from financial institutions or from the Ministère des Finances et de l’Économie, in its capacity as the entity in charge of the financing fund, thereby providing an additional tool the Commission can use to more easily even out its cash assets and other resources during periods requiring a greater outflow of funds.

During the fiscal year, the Commissioners adopted the budget of the Commission des services juridiques in two separate steps. They adopted a complete budget covering the operations and expenditures for the Commission’s permanent employees and another budget covering expenditures for the first ten months of the fiscal year for lawyers in private practice. Using this approach, they were able to adopt a no-deficit budget and update it in January 2013 by taking into account additional credits granted to the Commission during the year by the Ministère de la Justice.

The Commissioners ratified the resolution adopted by the board of directors of the Laurentides-Lanaudière Community Legal Centre appointing Me Caroline Blache as Director General of the centre.


Legal Aid Celebrates Its 40th Anniversary

The Legal Aid Act was passed in 1972 and the legal aid network was established the following year. This past year, the Commission des services juridiques and the regional legal aid centres participated in a number of regional events during which they highlighted this major anniversary.


Increase of Eligibility Thresholds

On June 1, 2012, the legal aid eligibility thresholds were increased for the first of three years in accordance with the regulation which amended the Regulation respecting legal aid on May 2, 2012 (O.C. 438-2012, (2012) 144 G.O. II 1438). The thresholds were increased by 1.65% for the gratuitous scheme and by 10.5% for the contributory scheme. In addition, on January 1, 2013, the legal aid eligibility thresholds were indexed in accordance with the Regulation respecting legal aid..


Service administratif de rajustement des pensions alimentaires pour enfants (SARPA) [Child Support Recalculation Service]

The Act to promote access to justice in family matters was assented to on June 15, 2012. This statute creates two new services offered to everyone in Québec: the Homologation Assistance Service (HAS) and the Service administratif de rajustement des pensions alimentaires pour enfants (SARPA). These services deal with the review or recalculation of support payments initially established by a court.

The law incorporates the Homologation Assistance Service (HAS) into the basket of services offered under An Act respecting legal aid and the provision of certain other legal services and gives the Commission des services juridiques the mandate to manage the Service administratif de rajustement des pensions alimentaires pour enfants (SARPA).


New Private Practice Rates

On March 19, 2013, two agreements were entered into between the Minister of Justice and the Barreau du Québec regarding the tariff of fees and disbursements for lawyers under the legal aid system. These agreements, which came into effect on March 27, 2013, deal with the fee rates in civil matters and in criminal and penal matters and will be in effect until September 30, 2017.


Teleservices and Direct Deposit

Since March 31, 2013, the Commission des services juridiques has used direct deposits to pay the fees and disbursements of lawyers and notaries. Lawyers in private practice and notaries have cooperated with this initiative which fits within the Commission’s Sustainable Development Action Plan and the government’s sustainable development strategy.


Labour Relations

During fiscal 2012-2013, the Commission des services juridiques and the unions representing its employees and lawyers signed new collective agreements which will be in effect until March 31, 2015. The same is true of the regional centres comprising the legal aid network, except for the Saguenay–Lac St-Jean Community Legal Centre, which has not yet concluded negotiations with its employees.

These collective agreements provide the network’s employees with working conditions comparable to those of employees in the public sector and they provide the network’s lawyers with conditions identical to those of lawyers employed by the Director of Criminal and Penal Prosecutions. They also allow employers in the legal aid network to compete within the job market.


Working Conditions for Legal Professionals Employed as Management Personnel

The Commissioners adopted the Règlement établissant les normes de rémunération des cadres juridiques à l’emploi du réseau de l’aide juridique [Regulation respecting remuneration standards for legal professionals employed as management personnel in the legal aid network] in order to grant these legal professionals pay parity with those employed as management personnel by the Director of Criminal and Penal Prosecutions.


Settlement of the Dispute Between the Barreau du Québec and the Regional Legal Aid Centres

On May 6, 2010, the Barreau du Québec served all of the community legal centres with a motion for a declaratory judgment dealing primarily with the application to youth protection matters of sections 51 and 52 of An Act respecting legal aid and the provision of certain other legal services. After numerous discussions and meetings between the administration of the Barreau du Québec and the administration of the Commission des services juridiques, the Barreau withdrew its motion in March of 2013.


Robert-Sauvé Award

The Robert-Sauvé Award in the General Public category was conferred upon Mr. André Laurin for his efforts in promoting the rights of disadvantaged people through his initiative to establish, with the help of the Barreau du Saguenay, the first legal aid service in that region and through his contribution to the creation of organizations devoted to supporting economically, legally and socially vulnerable individuals.

The Robert-Sauvé Award in the Legal Aid Network category was conferred upon Mr. Justice Jules Barrière for his commitment to the neediest litigants and for his work leading to the drafting of the Legal Aid Act and the establishment of the Outaouais Community Legal Centre, of which he was the first Director General. 

Picture of the section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Salle de presse/ Union de fait

Faits saillants 2012-2013


Vice-présidence

Le 4 février 2013, le Conseil des ministres a nommé Me Céline Giroux vice-présidente de la Commission des services juridiques. Elle remplace Me Lucie Dufresne dont le mandat était terminé depuis le 3 juillet 2012.


Les décisions marquantes des commissaires

La Commission des services juridiques s’est dotée d’un régime permettant à la Commission des services juridiques d’emprunter à court terme ou par voie de marge de crédit auprès d’institutions financières ou auprès du ministère des Finances et de l'Économie, à titre de responsable du fonds de financement, des montants pouvant aller jusqu’à 11 millions de dollars. Il s’agit d’un outil supplémentaire qui permettra à la Commission d’équilibrer plus facilement ses liquidités et ressources au cours des périodes de l’année qui nécessitent de plus grandes sorties de fonds.

Au cours de la présente année financière, les commissaires ont adopté, en deux étapes distinctes, le budget de la Commission des services juridiques. Ils ont ainsi adopté un budget complet pour les opérations et les dépenses à la permanence et un budget portant sur les dix premiers mois de l’année financière en ce qui a trait aux dépenses de la pratique privée. Cette façon de faire a permis d’adopter un budget sans déficit et de le parfaire en janvier 2013 en tenant compte des crédits supplémentaires accordés à la Commission par le ministère de la Justice en cours d’année.

Les commissaires ont ratifié la résolution du conseil d’administration du Centre communautaire juridique Laurentides-Lanaudière nommant Me Caroline Blache directrice générale de ce centre.


Le 40e anniversaire de l’aide juridique

La Loi sur l’aide juridique a été adoptée en 1972 et le réseau d’aide juridique a été mis sur pied l’année suivante. Au cours de la dernière année, la Commission des services juridiques et les centres régionaux d’aide juridique ont participé à diverses manifestations régionales au cours desquelles ils ont souligné cet important anniversaire.


Hausse des seuils d’admissibilité

Le 1er juin 2012, les seuils d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique ont été haussés pour la première de trois années conformément au règlement qui a modifié le Règlement sur l’aide juridique le 2 mai 2012 (Décret 438-2012, (2012) 144 G.O. II 2380). Ces hausses sont de l’ordre de 1,65 % pour le volet gratuit et de 10,5 % pour le volet contributif. De plus, le 1er janvier 2013, les seuils d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique ont été indexés conformément au Règlement sur l’aide juridique.


Service administratif de rajustement des pensions alimentaires pour enfants (SARPA)

La Loi favorisant l’accès à la justice en matière familiale a été sanctionnée le 15 juin 2012. Cette loi crée deux nouveaux services offerts à toute la population du Québec, le Service d’aide à l’homologation d’une entente (SAH) et le Service administratif de rajustement des pensions alimentaires pour enfants (SARPA). Ces services visent la révision ou le rajustement d’une pension alimentaire qui a d’abord été établie par un tribunal.

La loi incorpore le Service d’aide à l’homologation d’une entente (SAH) au panier de services offerts dans le cadre de la Loi sur l'aide juridique et sur la prestation de certains autres services juridiques et confie à la Commission des services juridiques le mandat de gérer le Service administratif de rajustement des pensions alimentaires pour enfants (SARPA).


Nouveaux tarifs de la pratique privée

Le 19 mars 2013, deux ententes ont été conclues entre le ministre de la Justice et le Barreau du Québec concernant le tarif des honoraires et des débours des avocats dans le cadre du régime d’aide juridique. Ces ententes, entrées en vigueur le 27 mars 2013, portent sur la tarification des honoraires en matière civile et en matière criminelle et pénale et elles seront en vigueur jusqu’au 30 septembre 2017.


Téléservices et dépôt direct

Depuis le 31 mars 2013, la Commission des services juridiques paie les relevés d’honoraires et de débours des avocats et notaires par dépôts directs. Les avocats de la pratique privée et les notaires ont collaboré à cette opération qui s’intègre au Plan d’action de la Commission et à la stratégie gouvernementale de développement durable.


Relations de travail

Au cours de l’année financière 2012-2013, la Commission des services juridiques et le syndicat de ses employés et celui de ses avocats ont chacun paraphé une nouvelle convention collective qui sera en vigueur jusqu’au 31 mars 2015. Il en va de même des centres régionaux qui composent le réseau de l’aide juridique, sauf le Centre communautaire juridique du Saguenay–Lac St-Jean qui n’a pas terminé les négociations avec ses employés.

Ces conventions collectives accordent aux employés du réseau des conditions de travail comparables à celles accordées aux employés du secteur public et octroient aux avocats des conditions identiques à celles accordées aux avocats à l’emploi du Directeur des poursuites criminelles et pénales. Elles permettent également aux employeurs du réseau de l’aide juridique d’être compétitifs sur le marché de l’emploi.


Conditions de travail des cadres juridiques

Les commissaires ont adopté le Règlement établissant les normes de rémunération des cadres juridiques à l’emploi du réseau de l’aide juridique afin de leur accorder la parité de rémunération avec les cadres juridiques à l’emploi du Directeur des poursuites criminelles et pénales.


Règlement du litige entre et le Barreau du Québec et les centres régionaux d’aide juridique

Le 6 mai 2010, le Barreau du Québec signifiait à l’ensemble des centres communautaires juridiques une requête en jugement déclaratoire portant principalement sur l’application, en matière de protection de la jeunesse, des articles 51 et 52 de la Loi sur l’aide juridique et sur la prestation de certains autres services juridiques. Après de nombreuses discussions et rencontres entre la direction du Barreau du Québec et celle de la Commission des services juridiques, le Barreau s’est désisté de cette requête au cours du mois de mars 2013.


L’attribution du Prix Robert-Sauvé

Le prix Robert-Sauvé, volet « grand public », a été décerné à monsieur André Laurin pour sa contribution à la promotion des droits des démunis tant pour sa démarche afin de mettre sur pied, avec l’aide du Barreau du Saguenay, un premier service d’aide juridique dans cette région que pour sa contribution à la création d’organisations vouées au soutien des personnes vulnérables sur le plan économique, juridique et social.

Le prix Robert-Sauvé, volet « réseau », a été décerné à monsieur le juge Jules Barrière pour son engagement auprès des justiciables les plus démunis et pour son travail qui a mené à la rédaction de la Loi sur l’aide juridique et à la mise sur pied du Centre communautaire juridique de l’Outaouais dont il a été le premier directeur général. 

Photo de la section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017